Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2010, 05:45 PM
kendallcschm's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 465

My System Specs

Default Physx dedicated GPU and EVGA OC

would this GPU work:
Newegg.com - ECS N8400GS2-512DS-F GeForce 8400 GS 512MB 64-bit DDR2 PCI HDCP Ready Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

it goes in the PCI slot.. and i would use it purely for Physx processing.. nothing else..

i was also wondering why in EVGA precision why my clock settings randomly drop.. i would think that when im running F@H for GPU it would stay at the OC clock settings but it doesn't.. after a little bit it just drops.. to low settings that make folding suck.. same with 3D games.. IDK why.. can someone explain this to me?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2010, 05:50 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

I guess not
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2010, 08:25 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

The 8400GS is not good enough for PhysX.

The reason your clocks are dropping is probably because your overclock is unstable and the drivers are crashing, which drops the card down to low-power 3D speeds when it recovers.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 11:38 AM
kendallcschm's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 465

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
The 8400GS is not good enough for PhysX.

The reason your clocks are dropping is probably because your overclock is unstable and the drivers are crashing, which drops the card down to low-power 3D speeds when it recovers.
how can i test for stability.. its still at the clock settings i got it with
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 01:05 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

You said in your first post that you are trying to run the card at overclocked settings. If you aren't overclocked and it still happens, there's a possibility that you're having a power issue, given the fact that you're using a garbage power supply. The card may be throttling because it isn't getting enough juice.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 02:04 PM
mchutch's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Ontario
Posts: 433

My System Specs

Default

I had a GTX 260 Core 216 SC for gfx and a 8600GT XXX for PhysX and it ran fine. Of course no I want a Fermi for gfx and my GTX260 for PhysX..

In your situation, original PhysX was PCI, so it should work under the right environment ...in theory lol
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 02:10 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mchutch View Post
I had a GTX 260 Core 216 SC for gfx and a 8600GT XXX for PhysX and it ran fine. Of course no I want a Fermi for gfx and my GTX260 for PhysX..

In your situation, original PhysX was PCI, so it should work under the right environment ...in theory lol
nVidia drivers will simply not allow PhysX to run on an 8400GS. The lowest-end PhysX-capable card is the 8600GT.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 02:27 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton Ab
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

I suggest an 8800* card. When i got my 280GTX I set my 8800 GTX for physix. and holy Fu*k.
__________________
Death to Apple
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 02:48 PM
mchutch's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Ontario
Posts: 433

My System Specs

Default

Yes I agree, was saying it should have worked, but we all know now that PCIe slots must be utilized, unless it's an origianl PhysX card.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dedicated physX GPU MarkOne Video Cards 1 January 18, 2010 04:27 PM
Dedicated PhysX... Shall i bother ? JORD4N Video Cards 11 November 1, 2009 05:50 PM
Multi-GPU PhysX implementation BrainEater Video Cards 16 May 7, 2009 03:54 PM
GPU for dedicated HTPC use. Empty_Quarter Video Cards 4 January 1, 2009 12:47 PM
Mirror's edge to use GPU physx Squeetard Gaming 3 November 29, 2008 12:31 PM