Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 04:22 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default PhysX help

Hey Everybody, I recently installed a 9600GSO for PhysX (P5k-E mobo in second slot, PCI-e 1.0). I am running a ATI card for my primary (4890) so I installed the patch and everything works fine. I ran fluidmark with physX enabled (min 14, av 36, max 371)and disabled (min 5, av 16, max 257)and I can confirm that it is running. However, when I look at my Nvidia card using GPU-Z I noticed that it is running at PCI-e 1x and not the 4x that the slot is capable of running at (it is a 16x slot that is capable of running at 4x). I did some Googling and found this to be a bug in the P35 chipset and I tried all the fixes and nothing worked.

So, my question is will a 9600GSO being used for PhysX be bottle necked by a PCI-e 1.0 1x slot?).
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 07:50 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Varroa View Post
Hey Everybody, I recently installed a 9600GSO for PhysX (P5k-E mobo in second slot, PCI-e 1.0). I am running a ATI card for my primary (4890) so I installed the patch and everything works fine. I ran fluidmark with physX enabled (min 14, av 36, max 371)and disabled (min 5, av 16, max 257)and I can confirm that it is running. However, when I look at my Nvidia card using GPU-Z I noticed that it is running at PCI-e 1x and not the 4x that the slot is capable of running at (it is a 16x slot that is capable of running at 4x). I did some Googling and found this to be a bug in the P35 chipset and I tried all the fixes and nothing worked.

So, my question is will a 9600GSO being used for PhysX be bottle necked by a PCI-e 1.0 1x slot?).
Nope.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2009, 11:15 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

It looks like it may have some effect but not a huge bottleneck:

Dedicated PhysX GPU performance dependence on PCI-E bandwidth | PhysXInfo.com - PhysX News
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Physx kendallcschm Video Cards 0 December 6, 2009 06:29 PM
PhysX with ATI? ToXic Video Cards 43 August 13, 2009 06:42 AM
Physx Card NightRain Video Cards 15 July 9, 2009 06:55 AM
question about physx kyle_L Video Cards 6 June 13, 2009 06:22 PM
Ageia PhysX Prof. Dr. Silver Video Cards 5 November 29, 2007 01:13 AM