Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2009, 12:31 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Well be polite is the best way to get what you want. If a costumer come at my job and spit me word in face the only thing I will say is...GTFO. Give us news!!!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2009, 12:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FiXT View Post
sigh, your one of those eh


You know, a polite, well rehearsed phone call, explaining the situation and your dissatisfaction never hurt any either

You can catch more flies with honey than vinegar
I agree.. A nice polite and calm call explaining your situation can make a lot of difference. You know being rude, ignorant, or behaving like a child (sorry.. just an example).. can really go against you. Just show brotherly love lol :p..

Hope you get a better card, and do let us know if you do..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2009, 01:48 PM
BT!'s Avatar
BT! BT! is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Muskoka
Posts: 854
Default

i got a reply from my xfx support ticket, it was a clerical error and i was supposed to get a ddr3 version. ddr3 version dont have sli or dual dvi.. still crap imo.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2009, 02:18 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BT! View Post
i got a reply from my xfx support ticket, it was a clerical error and i was supposed to get a ddr3 version. ddr3 version dont have sli or dual dvi.. still crap imo.
DDR3 or GDDR3 version? If you were supposed to get the 9500GT GDDR3, it's more or less as fast as the 8600GT you sent in. Maybe take it up a step further and explain how unhappy you are.

Also do you need dual DVI or VGA? At least I think what you meant since I don't see why you'd wanna SLI a 9500GT.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2009, 02:40 PM
BT!'s Avatar
BT! BT! is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Muskoka
Posts: 854
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Also do you need dual DVI or VGA? At least I think what you meant since I don't see why you'd wanna SLI a 9500GT.
it is irrelevant whether or not i need dual dvi or sli, point is the warranty states equal or better and without these options its neither.. i bought xfx for the warranty, if their not going to honor their policies then i'm not going to buy or recommend them. i have bought 3 cards and a motherboard from them and feel i have been screwed a little bit.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2009, 02:51 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default

The 9500GT is a rebadged 8600GT by the way. Aside from the shrunken chip on the 9500GT and a 10mhz core boost they are identical. One would argue that provided the 9500GT has the GDDR3, you are in fact getting and upgrade with the increase 800mhz memory clock as well

Look @ the specs:

9500GT
65 nm G96 GPU
32 Stream Processors.
550 MHz core, with a 1400 MHz unified shader clock.
8.8 billion texels/s fillrate.
256 MB/512MB/1024 1600 MHz GDDR3 memory or 256 MB 1000 MHz GDDR2 memory, both with a 128-bit memory bus.
25.6 GB/s memory bandwidth for boards configured with GDDR3 800 MHz memory.
Support DirectX 10, Shader Model 4.0, OpenGL 3.2, and PCI-Express 2.0.
Supports 2nd generation PureVideo HD technology with partial VC1 decoding.[8][9]
NVIDIA SLI - ready technology
HDMI technology Support


The 8600GT on the other hand:

GPU: G84
Process Size: 80nm
Transistors: 289M
DirectX: 10.0
Shader Model: 4.0
Core Clock: 540 MHz
Memory Clock: 700 MHz (1400MHz)
Memory Bus: 128 bit
Memory Size: 256/512 MB
Memory Type: GDDR3
Bandwidth: 22.4GB/s
Interface: PCI-E
ROPs: 8
Shading Units: 32


That said - you should definitely push that they replace with a GDDR3 version as I would consider the DDR2 a definite downgrade. But otherwise, if they admit and error and seems like they are going to replace it - They seem A-OK in my books.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2009, 03:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,008

My System Specs

Default

I had to RMA a 7900GTX a few years ago. Got stuck at the border due to customs, FedEx wanted to charge me for brokerage fees. A simple e-mail to XFX explaining the issue got me the card within 3 days with no money out of my pocket - it was already a week late because FedEx messed up.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2009, 03:58 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BT! View Post
i got a reply from my xfx support ticket, it was a clerical error and i was supposed to get a ddr3 version. ddr3 version dont have sli or dual dvi.. still crap imo.
Mistakes happen. Thats why they put erasers on pencils.

They need to give you a card though that does everything your old one did at equal or better performance. They also need to take back the old card at their expense, and perhaps even give you a small upgrade for your troubles.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 02:01 PM
BT!'s Avatar
BT! BT! is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Muskoka
Posts: 854
Default

just got off the phone and their sending me a 9500 GT 512MB DDR3 (PV-T95G-YDF3) with dual dvi and sli. :) and their paying for the shipping to send this one i have back to them. i'm happy again.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2009, 03:09 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default

Nice stuff

Good for them and kudo's for your patience - Wound up with a decent upgrade for your time in the end as well
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disappointing XFX RMA experience Vhlad Video Cards 31 December 23, 2009 05:44 PM
XFX RMA? redwagon CPU's and Motherboards 17 November 11, 2009 05:02 PM
XFX RMA Bobobear Video Cards 9 October 18, 2009 06:44 PM
XFX RMA - what are my chances? DragonFlame Video Cards 9 July 30, 2009 08:48 AM
RMA howto and RMA list qwerty Suggestions & Feedback 4 November 8, 2007 02:22 PM