Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 05:41 AM
r00tman's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 108
Angry Vista/XP black screen problem

Also known as the Timeout Detection and Recovery (TDR) issue. I'm having this problem when viewing videos on YouTube or playing Oblivion. I'm running Vista 32-bit. My system specs are listed below:
  • Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
  • EVGA 680i SLI
  • 4 GB OCZ SLI-Ready
  • EVGA GeForce 8800 Ultra
  • 2 x 74 GB WD Raptor, RAID 0
  • Enermax Galaxy 850W PSU
This is the error I get...


Anyone else experiencing this problem? (And yes, I've tried all that other trouble-shooting crap [Windows update, Forceware driver update, Vista restore, memory swap, video card swap, safe mode, etc.]) :help:
__________________
[Workstation]
HERCULES: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 | EVGA 680i SLI | 4GB Patriot EP | 2 x 150GB WD Raptor, RAID 0 | EVGA GeForce 8800 Ultra | ATi TV Wonder Elite.
[Laptop]
PAN: IBM Thinkpad T42 | Pentium M @ 1.77 GHz | 1GB DDR-333 | 40GB HDD | DVD-/+RW | ATi Radeon 7500.
[Server]
ZEUS: Dell Optiplex G150 | Intel PIII 1 GHz | 512GB SDRAM | 500GB HDD.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 06:19 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Well, when you overclock your card, sometime you get a BSOD when you're gaming or you get that kind of error. I remember, i got such kind of error message that would say that exactly this. Instead of having to reboot my computer after the crash, it would make my display drivers to crash and get recovered.

Is your card overcocked ? If so, are you sure it's stable ? Did you ever had that kind of problem before ? With XP ?
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 06:23 AM
r00tman's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriote View Post
Well, when you overclock your card, sometime you get a BSOD when you're gaming or you get that kind of error. I remember, i got such kind of error message that would say that exactly this. Instead of having to reboot my computer after the crash, it would make my display drivers to crash and get recovered.

Is your card overcocked ? If so, are you sure it's stable ? Did you ever had that kind of problem before ? With XP ?
No, it's running at stock speeds.

I've never encountered this problem and only used it with Vista x86 and x64.
__________________
[Workstation]
HERCULES: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 | EVGA 680i SLI | 4GB Patriot EP | 2 x 150GB WD Raptor, RAID 0 | EVGA GeForce 8800 Ultra | ATi TV Wonder Elite.
[Laptop]
PAN: IBM Thinkpad T42 | Pentium M @ 1.77 GHz | 1GB DDR-333 | 40GB HDD | DVD-/+RW | ATi Radeon 7500.
[Server]
ZEUS: Dell Optiplex G150 | Intel PIII 1 GHz | 512GB SDRAM | 500GB HDD.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 06:41 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

So that ain't you first Vista install with that set-up but it's the first time you see this problem, right ?

If so, maybe a clean install of Vista would solve the problem.
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 06:50 AM
r00tman's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriote View Post
So that ain't you first Vista install with that set-up but it's the first time you see this problem, right ?

If so, maybe a clean install of Vista would solve the problem.
Yes.

I hope to God a good Vista re-install can sort this problem out.
__________________
[Workstation]
HERCULES: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 | EVGA 680i SLI | 4GB Patriot EP | 2 x 150GB WD Raptor, RAID 0 | EVGA GeForce 8800 Ultra | ATi TV Wonder Elite.
[Laptop]
PAN: IBM Thinkpad T42 | Pentium M @ 1.77 GHz | 1GB DDR-333 | 40GB HDD | DVD-/+RW | ATi Radeon 7500.
[Server]
ZEUS: Dell Optiplex G150 | Intel PIII 1 GHz | 512GB SDRAM | 500GB HDD.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 11:38 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Good luck!
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2007, 05:11 PM
r00tman's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 108
Default

Ok, so I re-installed Vista x86, downloaded the latest WHQL drivers from NVidia, and the same shit happened.
I then rolled back the drivers, deleted the left over nvl...sys file from my system and installed the beta drivers, still the same shit.

I uninstalled Vista x86 and installed the x64 version. I downloaded the latest WHQL drivers from NVidia, and the same shit happened.
I then rolled back the drivers, deleted the left over nvl...sys file from my system and installed the beta drivers, still the same shit.

I'm on Windows XP x86 with the latest WHQL drivers installed. So far, so good. I'll have to run more video intensive games/applications to test stability.

Man this has been one nightmare.
__________________
[Workstation]
HERCULES: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 | EVGA 680i SLI | 4GB Patriot EP | 2 x 150GB WD Raptor, RAID 0 | EVGA GeForce 8800 Ultra | ATi TV Wonder Elite.
[Laptop]
PAN: IBM Thinkpad T42 | Pentium M @ 1.77 GHz | 1GB DDR-333 | 40GB HDD | DVD-/+RW | ATi Radeon 7500.
[Server]
ZEUS: Dell Optiplex G150 | Intel PIII 1 GHz | 512GB SDRAM | 500GB HDD.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2007, 05:45 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r00tman View Post
Ok, so I re-installed Vista x86, downloaded the latest WHQL drivers from NVidia, and the same shit happened.
I then rolled back the drivers, deleted the left over nvl...sys file from my system and installed the beta drivers, still the same shit.

I uninstalled Vista x86 and installed the x64 version. I downloaded the latest WHQL drivers from NVidia, and the same shit happened.
I then rolled back the drivers, deleted the left over nvl...sys file from my system and installed the beta drivers, still the same shit.

I'm on Windows XP x86 with the latest WHQL drivers installed. So far, so good. I'll have to run more video intensive games/applications to test stability.

Man this has been one nightmare.
What do you expect from vista.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2007, 12:06 PM
r00tman's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
What do you expect from vista.
I should have known better
__________________
[Workstation]
HERCULES: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 | EVGA 680i SLI | 4GB Patriot EP | 2 x 150GB WD Raptor, RAID 0 | EVGA GeForce 8800 Ultra | ATi TV Wonder Elite.
[Laptop]
PAN: IBM Thinkpad T42 | Pentium M @ 1.77 GHz | 1GB DDR-333 | 40GB HDD | DVD-/+RW | ATi Radeon 7500.
[Server]
ZEUS: Dell Optiplex G150 | Intel PIII 1 GHz | 512GB SDRAM | 500GB HDD.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2007, 02:27 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 169
Default

1st question (should of been asked by others) run windows update. there was an update taht resolved this issue with the 163.44+ drivers. WHQL drivers are very old BTW.
__________________
3800X2@2.2GHz--2gb PC3200--200Gb Maxtor SATA2--eVga 8800GTS 320mb--eVga nForce4 SLI mobo--Klipsch 4.1--Antec nine hundred case w/Vantec 120mm on side--Vista Premium 64bit

Join our Folding@Home team!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Problem yycraven O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 March 10, 2008 08:17 AM
Vista problem or bad hard drive? Varroa Troubleshooting 11 February 23, 2008 06:29 AM
Vista 64-bit problem SpateD O/S's, Drivers & General Software 15 February 10, 2008 12:51 PM
Vista premium media center problem donimo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 December 17, 2007 12:42 PM
Vista Control Panel problem Scratch O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 August 3, 2007 09:45 AM