Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 12, 2009, 07:05 AM
Rookie

Default 5870 Displayport to DVI, non Dell Working!

Hey all,
Been reading around alot about this displayport to dvi problem with the 5870. Just bought a dsp>dvi converter adapter from startech.com, just to see if i could get the dsp>dvi working, and yes it does. Running only ONE monitor & having it connected via the dsp>dvi adapter works fine. Now I don't know about using this with eyefinity, but i'm guessing if the adapter works with the one monitor, then maybe when i put the other two on the dvi ports & use this dsp>dvi adapter, all should work fine. So, hopefuly, we don't have to buy (which we can't here in Canada anyways) the $100 Dell adapter, and I really don't freeking get why Dell won't sell that up here in the first place.

Now, this adapter does 1920x1080, full hd, and since i'm kinda new to all this stuff, i'm guessing that maybe the problem might be when I bump up the resolution to 5760x1080 that this adapter won't handle it? According to the tech guy that I spoke to at startech.com, and explained the eyefinity situation, he said that he knew of people using it in that configuration & it worked.

The reason i don't have eyefinity hooked up yet with this adapter is purely & simply that i'm waiting to see if Samsung actualy does ship thin bezel displayport eyefinity monitors in December like some of the articles i've read say they will. I don't want to rush out & buy monitors now, if monitors designed for eyefinity are soon to be released. Then i'll take the plunge. Cause no doubt 3 of these are gonna cost at least a grand.

So, again, the startech.com dsp>dvi adapter works, at least with my one monitor hooked to it. It aint from Dell, doesn't cost $100 and is available in Canada

The link to the Samsung Eyefinity situation/rumour is: Samsung to launch a six monitor setup for AMD Eyefinity technology - Bright Side Of News*