Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 08:25 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 84

My System Specs

Default PCI-E 2.1?

Hey guys. Have been monitoring CC for more 5850 availability to CF the one I have. They now have a powercolor version and it claims to be pci-e 2.1. Whats the difference between that and 2.0? I didn't realize there even was 2.1 and can't find much info on it. I know its backwards compatible with 2.0 but what about running it with another card thats 2.0?
I doubt I'll buy the powercolor either way, but this slight difference made me curious.
Anyone have more info?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 08:34 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs

Default

MSI does this too, and I'm not exactly sure what they're getting at. I only know of PCI-E 2.0, and it's been the standard for some time now. I think it may be a marketing gimmick.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 08:38 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,068
Default

Wiki is your friend:
Quote:
PCI Express 2.1

PCI-E 2.1 supports a large proportion of the management and support/troubleshooting systems that will be fully implemented in PCI-E 3.0, but it runs at a PCI 2.0 link speed.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 08:40 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 84

My System Specs

Default

I did read that somewhere, but how does that make any difference to me or does it?
As for a marketing gimmick, that wouldn't surprise me, but it doesn't seem like a very good one because anyone who would pay attention to that (I would think) would be like me and want to know what exactly it means.

Should I presume it has no bearing on me either way?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 08:45 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,068
Default

To me it sounds like theyre adding the debugging features into PCIe 2.0 that they will end up using in PCIe 3.0, but they need to get that part down before advancing.

Now why do we need PCIe 3.0? well... we don't? do we? Seems premature to be thinking in such terms.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2009, 05:37 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 4,054

My System Specs

Default

We need PCIe 3.0 so we buy more motherboards.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the 9400 GT 1024MB PCI Express 2.0 work on PCI Express x16 slot? aleo Video Cards 9 June 8, 2009 05:47 PM
[WTB] X-Fi Titanium PCI-E or HT Omega Striker PCI $55 CAN Shipped riflepwnage Buy/Sell & Trade 11 April 26, 2009 01:18 PM
[WTB] PCI-X Board death_hawk Buy/Sell & Trade 1 April 24, 2009 07:41 AM
pci express evzonas Video Cards 3 August 31, 2008 08:02 AM
pci Rapid-X Buy/Sell & Trade 0 April 28, 2008 10:08 AM