Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 08:48 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ayah View Post
oh my god. Is that your setup? That looks wicked. But what's that little display at the middle of the bottom?
Yes thats my new setup. That little display is the G19 keyboard.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Why is everyone so shocked? been using a TH2go for over a year, way before eyefinity. oh well... lol
I kind of chuckle at it too, like its the second coming of Christ. I remember the Parhelia with triple head back in the day. Too bad the performance sucked or maybe it would have caught on long time ago. I would have invested in TH a while back....but its by Matrox. Parhelia left a bad taste in my mouth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phobia View Post
I've got a question about this as well. Im all for eyefinity while gaming, but when i'm not, i like to have my desktop extended onto the second monitor, that way my task bar only stays in the main monitor. is it possible to do that with eyefinity?
Eyefinity can only stretch across all monitors so if you want your task bar to be in the middle, you will have to use the old school windows method of setting up extended desktop.
__________________
Ivy Bridge 3770K @ 5.0 Ghz (delidded)
Asus P8Z77 WS
16GB Gskil DDR3-2400
Xfx R9 290 Flashed to 290X (x2) Eyefinity| Dell 2709W (x3)
OCZ Vertex 3/Corsair Force GT Raid 0 480Gb - Windows 7 x64 SP1
Corsair GT 120Gb SSD Cache for Seagate 2Tb - File backup
Corsair Obsidian 800D | Seasonic X-1250
HeatKiller 3.0 | EK R9 290x WB (x2) | TFC Exchanger Quad Rad | (x4) Scythe Gentle Typhoon |Swiftech MCP655 | EK drive bay Res.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 08:52 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,403
Default

Not Eyefinity but I used to use a Quadro + 3 monitors at work. It really helps out in certain apps like Photoshop, Lightwave and AutoCAD and can increase productivity by leaps and bounds.

If you want something for a professional environment, I would actually recommend checking out the professional solutions from ATI and Nvidia. Granted, they can run you into the thousands but you get support and some really nifty stuff. Particularly the new SLI Multi-OS technology from Nvidia.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 08:53 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chos3n View Post
Why do you keep using Legacy hardware? Wait the place is still up and running... wow ...
Dont. Even. Talk.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 09:13 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ontariotl View Post

Eyefinity can only stretch across all monitors so if you want your task bar to be in the middle, you will have to use the old school windows method of setting up extended desktop.
Can you switch between eyefinity and extended desktop easily? Because if so, that would be stellar. I'd turn eyefinity on for gaming, and then turn it off when im done.
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 09:33 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phobia View Post
Can you switch between eyefinity and extended desktop easily? Because if so, that would be stellar. I'd turn eyefinity on for gaming, and then turn it off when im done.
Yup, just have to get into the catalyst menu and turn off the group and then extend desktop. You might be able to use the desktop properties as well to do this, but I can't confirm right now as I'm at work.
__________________
Ivy Bridge 3770K @ 5.0 Ghz (delidded)
Asus P8Z77 WS
16GB Gskil DDR3-2400
Xfx R9 290 Flashed to 290X (x2) Eyefinity| Dell 2709W (x3)
OCZ Vertex 3/Corsair Force GT Raid 0 480Gb - Windows 7 x64 SP1
Corsair GT 120Gb SSD Cache for Seagate 2Tb - File backup
Corsair Obsidian 800D | Seasonic X-1250
HeatKiller 3.0 | EK R9 290x WB (x2) | TFC Exchanger Quad Rad | (x4) Scythe Gentle Typhoon |Swiftech MCP655 | EK drive bay Res.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 09:34 PM
Chos3n's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rigaud,QC
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Dont. Even. Talk.
I kid, I kid.

The Triple Head 2 Go is actually the only thing of Matrox that is worth something. God, have you tried the Milemium series? a 6800GT beats it fair and square... and both cards have 5 years difference!

But know, we don't need big boxes to emulate that... I want to see Matrox and ATI at their booths... lawls.
__________________
System | Ragnarok
Case Antec 900
PSU Corsair TX750W
CPU Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Memory Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
Video Card MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II
Sound Card ASUS Xonar DX
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2009, 09:53 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 655

My System Specs

Default

How does eyefinity work with rotated displays? I've got a couple 20" rotated 90deg on either side of a 30". 1200x1600, 2560x1600, 1200x1600 or 4960x1600.... wondering since 2 of them are rotated and 1 isnt if it would still work? if so I may get rid of my 4870's for some 5800's
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2009, 08:58 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DoorGTZ View Post
How does eyefinity work with rotated displays? I've got a couple 20" rotated 90deg on either side of a 30". 1200x1600, 2560x1600, 1200x1600 or 4960x1600.... wondering since 2 of them are rotated and 1 isnt if it would still work? if so I may get rid of my 4870's for some 5800's
Eyefinity doesnt support mixed resolutions. At least not yet. All the monitors have to be the same resolution.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2009, 06:54 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

I'm thinking Matrox's Dual head 2 go might be what I'm looking for at work, getting a good quadro or fireGL card would be a likely as getting hit by a meteor. I asked for a Floppy drive and our IT guy said I could borrow the one on his desk when I needed it... I'll give Eyefinity the once over on my own system shortly.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2009, 09:40 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Some companies are making one lane PCI-e video cards. Just another option.

2
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eyefinity - using different monitors James_8970 Video Cards 12 February 17, 2011 04:16 PM
Eyefinity Clarification Thread Q&A CMetaphor Video Cards 62 November 4, 2010 07:13 PM
Got my Eyefinity going on!!! ontariotl Video Cards 68 October 17, 2010 03:17 PM
Jump to Eyefinity or not? CMetaphor Video Cards 38 October 9, 2009 04:17 PM
Constructive Antec 900 ideas donimo Cases 9 January 4, 2008 03:36 PM