Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 12:06 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Sweet. The only thing that looks funky is L4D. Just look at the car on the left, it's been stretched lol. But that's frickin' amazing dude. Congrats!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 12:11 PM
JoetheMobster's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 29
Default

wow, that looks amazing!
__________________
CPU AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE RAM 8Gb Corsair XMS3 Mobo Gigabyte GA-770T-USB3 GPU XFX 7870 Double D Monitor Samsung SyncMaster 2253LW Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+ OS Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 12:22 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

I have no doubt that newer games with custom Res modes will enable custom aspect ratios as well. Once this and FOV values are corrected, the "Fisheye" effect from surround gaming in certain titles will be Gone.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 12:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ontariotl View Post
Ahhh yes, thanks JMCD for the use of your G25! I'll eventually have to go back to my Momo wheel

I don't know if you want to try out my set up the next time you are over....your wallet may just get lighter. I take no responsibility!
Can't afford it just yet, but it'll definitely play a role in choosing the next GPU I buy.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 01:04 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 518

My System Specs

Default

I hate you. I want a setup like that!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 01:12 PM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

Wow - thanks, it is inspiring. I have to try that. I do have three 22 inch monitors, so what all else is required? Or maybe just a link to a good article? Anyway, amazing, lucky dog you are!
__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 01:13 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 212
Default

Had a request for Flight Simulator X on another forum so I took some pics along with a few other games. As for some of the views that have a "fish eye" view to them, it doesn't bother me while I play.

Flight Simulator X














Grid








GTA4




__________________
Ivy Bridge 3770K @ 5.0 Ghz (delidded)
Asus P8Z77 WS
16GB Gskil DDR3-2400
Xfx R9 290 Flashed to 290X (x2) Eyefinity| Dell 2709W (x3)
OCZ Vertex 3/Corsair Force GT Raid 0 480Gb - Windows 7 x64 SP1
Corsair GT 120Gb SSD Cache for Seagate 2Tb - File backup
Corsair Obsidian 800D | Seasonic X-1250
HeatKiller 3.0 | EK R9 290x WB (x2) | TFC Exchanger Quad Rad | (x4) Scythe Gentle Typhoon |Swiftech MCP655 | EK drive bay Res.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 01:16 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

imagine that with portrait 30" monitors.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 10:06 PM
Ritz's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 89

My System Specs

Default

Haha, awesome. How's the framerate? What kind of effects did you have to give up, if any? Hrm, let's say for NFS:Shift?
__________________
I REALLY want a solid state disk drive. Really awfully badly.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2009, 10:21 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ritz View Post
Haha, awesome. How's the framerate? What kind of effects did you have to give up, if any? Hrm, let's say for NFS:Shift?
I didn't have to change anything in Shift. I did have to adjust for GTA4 and GRID for it to run. It was minimal adjustments...like one notch down for some settings, mainly AA and AF. Small sacrifice. Crossfire will get it back once it works with EF.
__________________
Ivy Bridge 3770K @ 5.0 Ghz (delidded)
Asus P8Z77 WS
16GB Gskil DDR3-2400
Xfx R9 290 Flashed to 290X (x2) Eyefinity| Dell 2709W (x3)
OCZ Vertex 3/Corsair Force GT Raid 0 480Gb - Windows 7 x64 SP1
Corsair GT 120Gb SSD Cache for Seagate 2Tb - File backup
Corsair Obsidian 800D | Seasonic X-1250
HeatKiller 3.0 | EK R9 290x WB (x2) | TFC Exchanger Quad Rad | (x4) Scythe Gentle Typhoon |Swiftech MCP655 | EK drive bay Res.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eyefinity - using different monitors James_8970 Video Cards 12 February 17, 2011 04:16 PM
Eyefinity Clarification Thread Q&A CMetaphor Video Cards 62 November 4, 2010 07:13 PM
Jump to Eyefinity or not? CMetaphor Video Cards 38 October 9, 2009 04:17 PM
So will the extra 2GB in the 5870 Eyefinity Edition help with AA like Edge Detect Z Overlord Video Cards 1 October 8, 2009 08:04 PM