Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 04:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 18
Default XFX RMA

first off, i like to say this is my first post and i'm very happy to find an canadian pc forum on par with ocn. my question is, when sending and receiving the RMAed part to and back from XFX will it be likely i will get hit with broker fee/ duty etc.

i just sent my 7900gt to xfx through Canadapost 2-4 days ago and wrote the value of the card to be 100$. (bought it for 300) also is it best to request the return shipment to be USPS as they were originally planning to use fedex.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 04:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 18
Default

anyone have any XFX rma stories too? since your all from canada it want to hear about total time before the card came back and what was it like to deal with them.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 05:03 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

2 weeks back-and-forth, no duties even with FedEx.

You may not have USPS, even if you requested it.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 05:15 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

I've never gotten hit with duties RMA'ing with most if not all as its classified as a broken/repaired product typically at value 0$ and you can't/they don't charge duty for those type of items
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 05:46 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

Yeah it's usually best to indicate that it's an RMA when shipping. (IIRC Purolator has a spot to indicate that it's going to manufacturer for RMA).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 05:59 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

All my RMA sent backs are done with Canada Post.

all you have to do is put something like warranty services + computer part under "itemized list", it will easily go though the border.

If you put RMA on it it might take a few extra days. My local postal service center does not know what RMA stands for
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 06:10 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
All my RMA sent backs are done with Canada Post.

all you have to do is put something like warranty services + computer part under "itemized list", it will easily go though the border.

If you put RMA on it it might take a few extra days. My local postal service center does not know what RMA stands for
Same with mine. I did RMA for some Mushkin RAM and it was my first time mailing ANYTHING. The employee for Canada Post was lost. It did get through customs and it's now at Mushkin.

You know, maybe the topic should be changed from XFX RMA to Duties and RMA.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 06:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 18
Default

i was at shoppers when i mailed it. they gave me a stick and the options on it were like "gift, other, etc" i chose other, it asked for the value and i put 100$. well, i guess the stickers are specific enough, its gonna be annoying if i get hit with some kind of fee. it never asked if it was warranty/repair and under item i wrote "video card, made in china"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 06:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 18
Default

i did however put the word RMA into the sticker as requested by XFX to have the word RMA and it's number on the outside. by the way, if they say they are gonna give me a 9500gt can i refuse and request an 9600gt? (will that influence my chances in anyway or is their decision final?)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 06:44 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,877

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobobear View Post
i did however put the word RMA into the sticker as requested by XFX to have the word RMA and it's number on the outside. by the way, if they say they are gonna give me a 9500gt can i refuse and request an 9600gt? (will that influence my chances in anyway or is their decision final?)
I don't believe you can. You get whatever they consider to be of equal value and performance.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XFX RMA - what are my chances? DragonFlame Video Cards 9 July 30, 2009 08:48 AM
what pcb does XFX use for their XFX GTX275? Mush Video Cards 2 June 25, 2009 10:27 PM
XFX 8800GT or XFX 9600GT XXX? BALISTX Video Cards 7 March 26, 2008 10:52 AM
RMA howto and RMA list qwerty Suggestions & Feedback 4 November 8, 2007 02:22 PM
How to do an RMA? bobaban Off Topic 2 November 5, 2007 10:38 AM