Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 02:09 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 452

My System Specs

Default 5870 artifacts

I have a single 5870. But when playing crysis I notice a lots of white dots flashing on the screen on things lime walls and floors. My settings are all ultra and 4xaa what could be the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 02:55 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

over heating of core or memory will cause artifacts
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 03:02 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 452

My System Specs

Default

Ok, weird tho it has only happened in crysis.
I have heard that it is a driver problem. What is another game that would give my gpu a workout?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 03:22 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

just use a stress test like atitool ( but you have a very good point about the drivers i have heard of a few driver problems but that's just hear say i can't speak from experience )
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 03:30 PM
Dadi_oh's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Almonte, Ontario
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goalieman077 View Post
Ok, weird tho it has only happened in crysis.
I have heard that it is a driver problem. What is another game that would give my gpu a workout?
Furmark. Use the stess mode and if that passes then you are probably OK on the HW.
__________________
Rig1: Q9550 @3.8GHz Vendetta 2, P5Q-PRO, 6GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500. 5870 1GB, GT240 Physx, Ultra LSP 750W, 2TB internal + 2TB external, 3X23" 5760X1080 eyefinity + GT240 Physx, HAF22 case 3X200mm : Win7 Pro
Rig2: E8200 @3.6GHz Vendetta HSF, DFI P45 LP-JR, 4GB 900MHz, 4870 512MB, X203W 20", Ultra Gladiator Case
Rig3: Q6600@ 3.5GHz H50, P5Q-PRO, 8GB, 8800GTS512, OCZ GameXStream 850W, Samsung 245BW 24" + 19" dual: Snow Leopard + Parallels Win7
Rig4: MAC mini Snow Leopard
Laptop: Macbook Pro 15"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 03:45 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 452

My System Specs

Default

what settings should I use on furmark?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 03:52 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 452

My System Specs

Default

I just did a furmark with msaa at x4 and max temp was 77
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 04:28 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

As said, try ATI tool as well and look for artifacts. Have you got farcry 2? or crysis warhead they are both pretty intensive as well. You need to monitor all the bits of the card when using furmark etc with something like the GPUZ tool -that way you can see the memio temps and not just the core. 75 on the core sounds good but if the mem or voltage regulators arnt seated well on the sink then they could be much hotter.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 04:33 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,761

My System Specs

Default

I got artifacts like crazy when playing Crysis on my 4870x2, but on nothing else. Make sure you have the game patched to it's newest and possibly try turning some eye candy down. It worked for me.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 06:46 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

It's a driver issue. White dots in Crysis are "normal", and well ATI/AMD has never gotten around to fixing it I see. It didn't originally happen, but in one of their driver revisions it showed up.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800GT, artifacts, BSOD, card dead? artistpavel Video Cards 3 March 28, 2009 05:59 AM
Artifacts in Company of Heroes and Crysis Wolfx25 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 January 4, 2009 10:24 AM
4870x2 artifacts in some games Domusas Video Cards 7 December 23, 2008 08:40 AM
Water cooled my 8800GTX, getting artifacts now... help ragenrok Water Cooling 5 September 11, 2008 10:50 PM
Artifacts in ATI tool? magictorch Troubleshooting 7 February 25, 2008 12:33 PM