Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 09:03 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Updated with some testing results. No Eyefinity for me yet it seems...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2009, 09:58 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

^why I hope there no problems ( with hardware not sure if you bought yet )
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2009, 09:39 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Default

One question that I still haven't found answered anywhere:

If I want to run 3 DVI monitors in an eyefinity setup, using an active dp-dvi converter, do all of the monitors need dual-link DVI cables, or is it possible to use single-link? The monitors I'm planning on using are all 17" 1280 x 1024 resolution.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2009, 09:55 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kzig View Post
One question that I still haven't found answered anywhere:

If I want to run 3 DVI monitors in an eyefinity setup, using an active dp-dvi converter, do all of the monitors need dual-link DVI cables, or is it possible to use single-link? The monitors I'm planning on using are all 17" 1280 x 1024 resolution.
That one's fairly easy: Dual-Link DVI is only required for using monitors with resolution 1920x1200 or more. Aka, you only need to use dual-link cables if youre running 24'' monitors or greater
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2009, 11:40 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Ok, so even though the combined resolution is 3840 x 1024, roughly the same area as 2560 x 1200, each monitor will still work using single-link DVI cables? Good to know.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2009, 12:25 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kzig View Post
Ok, so even though the combined resolution is 3840 x 1024, roughly the same area as 2560 x 1200, each monitor will still work using single-link DVI cables? Good to know.
Using the two onboard dual-link DVIs and the active DP-DVI adapter, you can run 3x that much resolution. in other words, with the amount of pixels youre pushing you could technically do it all from ONE of those dual-link dvis (but you'd need something like a TH2Go to do it, im just talking bandwidth-wise).
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2009, 04:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trueman832 View Post
Hi all,

I have had an XFX 5870 up and running with a Dell/Bizlink DPtoDVI adapter and 3x LG 22" monitors for a week now. It is so much more compatible with my flight sims than the GTX295/TH2G combo ever was that I was glad to see it go.

My problem is this: for about 10 minutes per hour, my monitor on the displayport output starts going wonky, it flicks on and off like it's changing modes every few seconds, showing blackness, artifacts, patterns, and then the proper screen over and over again. Then it goes back to normal for a while.

Is this a result of a faulty adapter, or is this the adapter trying to convince the DVI monitor that it's at the wrong resolution? Can this be fixed by going DP to DVI to VGA? At this point, returning the adapter to Dell will be a tremendous pain in the rear. Could this be a bad displayport on the card?

Thanks!
trueman832
Uh oh.
I am unfortunately having this exact same problem with the same bizlink/dell adapter. Frustrated as hell too. I am running a 5770.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2009, 06:12 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drummr2112 View Post
Uh oh.
I am unfortunately having this exact same problem with the same bizlink/dell adapter. Frustrated as hell too. I am running a 5770.
Supposedly the best solution for this is using an AC to USB power brick (aka a wall outlet "wall wart" that gives you a usb port for charging). It seems that the USB on the Bizlink adapter gets Very unhappy when the power on the usb line fluctuates, even slightly.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2009, 08:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Supposedly the best solution for this is using an AC to USB power brick (aka a wall outlet "wall wart" that gives you a usb port for charging). It seems that the USB on the Bizlink adapter gets Very unhappy when the power on the usb line fluctuates, even slightly.
So far it has definitely helped the situation. It's not as often now but for some reason it still happens once in awhile. Thanks for the idea! At least it's playable now
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2009, 06:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 25
Default

I wonder if the apple DP/mini DP would be any more reliable during operation.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comment Thread for The Future of Stereo 3D Part 1 &2 SKYMTL Display Units 45 October 23, 2009 06:01 AM
Jump to Eyefinity or not? CMetaphor Video Cards 38 October 9, 2009 04:17 PM
HWC lan party [Games&Benchmark list] &RSVP Thread Cowboy Off Topic 6 August 10, 2009 02:56 PM
AM2+ versus AM3 Motherboards and CPUs, clarification needed superj CPU's and Motherboards 17 February 25, 2009 08:48 AM
HD4870 & HD4850 Crossfire Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 56 August 12, 2008 05:40 AM