Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 09:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default HD5870 only requiring a 500W psu?!?!?

From Newegg review:


Pros: P15500 3dmark Vantage Score
30FPS average in Crysis at 1920x1200 Very High Spec
This card is beyond awesome. I'm coming from a single 4870 512MB and performance is better on all fronts.

-DX11
-27W Idle power consumption
-Excellent DX performance
-If you like the Batmobile you WILL like this card
-You only need a 450-500W PSU to run this beast (even with an OC quad-core)

I'm definitely crossfiring in a few months this time around.

Cons: n/a

Other Thoughts: LIAN-LI CASE OWNERS BEWARE. You may have to mod your case. (I personally own a PC-A70 fyi)

The expansion slot backplate on the 5870 has a couple of screws that will interfere with the 'fancy' expansion slot backplate on your Lian-Li case. This is not AMD/ATI's fault. Lian-Li does not build their expansion slots to specification for aesthetic reasons. (who really needs a fancy backplate anyway?)

Also, use the drivers that come with your card as opposed to the ones on AMDs site until they do a proper driver release. (I run Vista Home Premium 32-bit)

I don't know if it's my system, or if I didn't uninstall the previous drivers properly, but when I installed the ones from AMD's website my performance was about 3% worse than it should have been and I suffered a few crashes related to the driver. You'd think they would be the same.


w...t...f

Is this true? I am using an i7, 6GB ram, OCZ600 (some Stealth thing)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 09:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

I wouldn't believe what someone said on newegg. I'd wait and see what other people can run it on.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 10:33 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

When one of the pros is "If you like the Batmobile you WILL like this card", I think that says everything necessary for that particular review.

There are quite a few power consumption figures circulating the web for this card, so you'd want to be careful. However, it's quite possible that a real 500W unit could run this card just fine.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2009, 11:23 PM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 599

My System Specs

Default

If you don't play too much Furmark and OC your i7 under LN2 then yes a good 500W PSU is just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 04:43 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 35
Default

read some reviews and you'll see that the card runs on incredibly low power, 28w idle i believe, and 170w load. Why wouldn't 500W be enough?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 06:31 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Would be enough but why chance it when there's many good 600w+ PS that can be had at reasonnable prices.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 06:35 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

Considering a 5870 has the same tdp as a gts250, I'd believe it.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 07:25 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Depends on the 500W PSU. You'll want to get a PSU with lots of amperage on the 12V rail. But, I would choose a quality 500W+ PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 07:26 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 914

My System Specs

Default

I'd personally never risk it. Why bother when PSU's arnt that badly priced now a days anyway. Always better to have more power then not enough.
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 02:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Well I gotta a 600W psu OCZ Stealth Extreme

If I'm going to upgrade my psu it's going to be a fancy Corsair modular HX series.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can my 500W PSU run a gtx275 icepizza Power Supplies 26 January 5, 2010 10:14 AM
[FS] nvidia GPUs and DDR3 Silvgearx Buy/Sell & Trade 37 November 20, 2009 07:30 PM
500w psu enough? donkon Power Supplies 3 June 20, 2009 06:40 PM
Wtb: Psu ~500w chouchou Buy/Sell & Trade 2 November 3, 2008 04:37 PM