Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 05:14 AM
OTZ OTZ is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Aylmer, ON
Posts: 7
Default Yet another advice requested thread

I'm in the market for a new video card, and I need some input.

My current set up is as follows:

Q6600 @ 3ghz
4 GB RAM
OCZ 520W Modstream
1680x1050 res

Here are my vid card choices:

XFX 4870 1GB @ $157
XFX 4850 1GB @ $130
4850 512MB @ $90 w/ Rebate

What's best for my setup? I assume the 4850 1GB is, but for an extra 30 I can get the 4870...will my PSU be enough for a 4870?

Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 05:40 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,605
Default

What resolution do you game at?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 05:44 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OTZ View Post
1680x1050 res


I'd say go for the 4870. Or wait tilll the new-gen comes out and get a midrange card then.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 05:50 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

4870 cheap great card simply choice
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 05:54 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

-4870 for budget
-GTX260 216 SP to game AND fold
-4890/GTX275 for a little extra punch to keep those min frame rates high
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 06:16 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,605
Default

I say forget about 1GB cards altogether at that resolution.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 06:21 AM
OTZ OTZ is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Aylmer, ON
Posts: 7
Default

Next gen cards will be beyond my budget (which is $175) I believe. I'm operating under the assumption they'll force the price down on curent stuff.

Just to confirm a couple of things then - my PSU would be fine for a 4870, but I don't necessarily need a 1GB card? I should mention I do hook my PC up to 50" TV once in a while.

Thanks for the input so far!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 06:31 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

The resolution on your 50'' TV is at most 1080p, which isn't that big of a jump from your 1680x1050 panel. I agree that a 1gb card may be overkill, but its only a $30 difference between a 4870 1Gb and a 4850 1Gb, You might as well go for the more powerful GPU and be able to turn on extra eye-candy.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 06:36 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 745

My System Specs

Default

I have close to that exact setup(q6600@3.2) however I already had a GTX260, it runs anything and everything at decent details level and instead of upgrading to I7 to get more performance, I went with a second one in SLI, It should get it this week.

i5/i7 is really nice but I do not beleive we are at a point where we are even cose to being CPU limited yet for gaming.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 04:18 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
I have close to that exact setup(q6600@3.2) however I already had a GTX260, it runs anything and everything at decent details level and instead of upgrading to I7 to get more performance, I went with a second one in SLI, It should get it this week.
Hate to burst your bubble but yes..your 260 SLI arrangement will be "held back" by your CPU...OC that sucker to 3.6 - 3.8 (higher the better) and unleash those GPU's ;) We are at the stage now where the GPU's are fast...start going with Multi and you want a potent or highly OC'd CPU to unleash the full potential of those Cards.
Core I7's rip multi GPU's apart...thats why we have em !
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ram Question: Advice Requested dadzilla RAM 3 May 28, 2009 10:17 AM
9800gtx+ oddness. Input requested dadzilla Video Cards 22 March 9, 2009 03:03 PM
My WC system to be expanded...critique requested RussianRedScorpion Water Cooling 19 April 28, 2008 09:30 AM
advice requested on new monitor rob123 Display Units 10 June 2, 2007 06:57 PM