Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 06:05 PM
Cranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 149
Default Exttended Desktop not showing taskbar, icons etc.

This is a Vista setup with a HD4870x2. Here's the problem, I have my LCD TV hooked up as my second monitor, and while I can see the wallpaper on the LCD TV and can move my mouse pointer, and even drag icons over from my main monitor I can't execute anything on that monitor unless I make it my main monitor. I was under the impression that I could execute different things simultaneously on both screen. Such as having two separate browser windows open, one showing video while surfing in the other. What step have I missed in setting it up?
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe / Intel Core2Quad Q9550@8x425@3400mhz(1.225v) / Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro / 4Gigs DDR2 1066mhz(5-5-5-15) Corsair Dominator / Diamond HD4870x2 / Asus Xonar / WD Raptor 74gb / Hitachi 160GB / Antec Quattro 850w / Logitech Z-680 5.1 / Dell Ultrasharp 24" / 2 LG Optical Drives / Vista Ultimate 32bit / A tower that's been drilled, cut, and bent to fit all of my fans
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 06:07 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

you can but tool bars and stuf like gaming will only be on the main monitor
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 06:12 PM
Cranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 149
Default

I have seen videos where a desktop was extended to a second monitor and it was an exact clone of the main. My using the dvi to hdmi converter wouldn't have anything to do with it would it?
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe / Intel Core2Quad Q9550@8x425@3400mhz(1.225v) / Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro / 4Gigs DDR2 1066mhz(5-5-5-15) Corsair Dominator / Diamond HD4870x2 / Asus Xonar / WD Raptor 74gb / Hitachi 160GB / Antec Quattro 850w / Logitech Z-680 5.1 / Dell Ultrasharp 24" / 2 LG Optical Drives / Vista Ultimate 32bit / A tower that's been drilled, cut, and bent to fit all of my fans
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 06:13 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

You can get Ultramon to make another taskbar on the second screen, but you can only game on your main screen. Of course, you can drag a media player or browser to the other screen and watch a video there, but you'll have to have another browser open on your main screen for anything else.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 06:16 PM
Cranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 149
Default

So what your saying is that by default all I should be seeing on the second monitor is the wallpaper itself?
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe / Intel Core2Quad Q9550@8x425@3400mhz(1.225v) / Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro / 4Gigs DDR2 1066mhz(5-5-5-15) Corsair Dominator / Diamond HD4870x2 / Asus Xonar / WD Raptor 74gb / Hitachi 160GB / Antec Quattro 850w / Logitech Z-680 5.1 / Dell Ultrasharp 24" / 2 LG Optical Drives / Vista Ultimate 32bit / A tower that's been drilled, cut, and bent to fit all of my fans
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 06:19 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

And whatever you drag over, yeah.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 06:21 PM
Cranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 149
Default

Alright, I will try and drag my browser over, and post back later to let you know of my results.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe / Intel Core2Quad Q9550@8x425@3400mhz(1.225v) / Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro / 4Gigs DDR2 1066mhz(5-5-5-15) Corsair Dominator / Diamond HD4870x2 / Asus Xonar / WD Raptor 74gb / Hitachi 160GB / Antec Quattro 850w / Logitech Z-680 5.1 / Dell Ultrasharp 24" / 2 LG Optical Drives / Vista Ultimate 32bit / A tower that's been drilled, cut, and bent to fit all of my fans
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 06:28 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

i think you can expand your browser onto the second screen but that would be quite difficult to read and would not really do too much for browsing anyways.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 07:58 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,455

My System Specs

Default

you'll only see the wallpaper. beware if you are using MediaPlayerClassic do not drag the window while playing a movie or it will freeze your computer.
__________________
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 08:28 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
you'll only see the wallpaper. beware if you are using MediaPlayerClassic do not drag the window while playing a movie or it will freeze your computer.

Lol its never frozen mine, it just makes the size all wonky and it wont go fullscreen properly.
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win7 not showing..... kruzn4evr O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 May 28, 2009 01:31 PM
Making icons in ubuntu biff O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 January 8, 2009 07:09 PM
Nothing showing up on screen klaiboi Troubleshooting 1 October 26, 2008 01:21 PM
Show us your desktop (YOUR REAL DESKTOP) probationer Off Topic 5 August 11, 2008 06:32 PM
TaskBar Shuffle enaberif O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 January 6, 2007 01:28 AM