Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 06:16 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 37
Default EVGA GTX 285 and Games in general.

Okay, the weirdest thing ever. From all the games I've managed to test so far, they all run very smooth with no chopping or delay when moving the mouse, however it's pretty different with Dead Space. There is no chopping in the game, or any graphical glitches, it all runs perfect on high settings and 1680x1050, but it "lags" when I move the mouse.

While the game is running pretty much awesome, when I want to turn around and such it seems like the turning lags behind my mouse. You get like that delay when the character turns and the same in the menu options, as if I was trying to run it on a shitty system.
So this brings me to two questions, anyone else had this and knows why? And is there a way I can turn on some fps display to see how much fps I am running. I tried lowering everything to the lowest setting, also put graphics on low and it still lags after my mouse.
Please don't tell me the game is actually designed like this ?

Updated: See last post.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 X58 || GTX 285 || Corsair DDR3 - 1600 2x3GB || i7 920

Last edited by Schnerf; September 3, 2009 at 03:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 10:02 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Download n install Evga Precision....
Read through the "how to" portion and you'll be able to set-up "Onscreen Display". you can add the option of FPS in Onscrene Display, as well as GPU Core Speed n GPU Temps. Personally I like to be able to monitor FPS, Core Speeds n Temps while gaming.

EVGA Precision

Cheers
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 10:10 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto (North York)
Posts: 214

My System Specs

Default

and dont forget to turn the VSync off
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 10:15 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

Okay, I won't tell you the game is actually designed like that. No wait, I will.

Deadspace is a console game, ported over to PC and that is why it "feels" like that. No matter what screwing around you do you aren't going to make that game run like a PC native game.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 11:13 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
Okay, I won't tell you the game is actually designed like that. No wait, I will.

Deadspace is a console game, ported over to PC and that is why it "feels" like that. No matter what screwing around you do you aren't going to make that game run like a PC native game.
I've played a lot of ports from consoles to PC before, if that is the case, this is the worst port platforming I've ever seen. Why would they NOT take care of the most important part of the game, the actual movement and aiming ? I highly doubt this is the case.

Thanks for that program rjbarker, going to check it out :).

Another question while I'm at it, as I am still a complete computer noob, I thought I'd buy another 285 card so that I can have two of them, since most people here seem to do it and I feel since I have the money I should go for it :D. Now the question is, when I put the card in the motherboard, all I have to do is put that sli cable over it and enable SLI option in the nvidia control panel, right?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 X58 || GTX 285 || Corsair DDR3 - 1600 2x3GB || i7 920
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 11:23 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

About SLI, yes, that's pretty much it.

Regarding the game: Good luck.

According to EA, turning off Vsync should do it!

EA Hong Kong | Message Boards - Mouse lag issues with Dead Space PC?

But alas, no.

Also:

Quote:
I played through half of the game with vsync off and it was a tolerable.
But after enabling triple-buffering it works nearly perfect...
Quote:
Are you all sure that turning off vsync fixed it? It does absolutely nothing for me. I didn't have it on in the first place... I've tried all the d3doverrider stuff too. It helped a lot for FC2 but does nothing for dead space. Is there anything else I can do?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 02:45 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,612
Default

I am actually going to recommend that you turn V-Sync ON. Believe it or not, I have experienced lag in Dead Space when the framerates are too high. Unlike many games on the market, framerates in Dead Space with high-end cards can actually climb about 200 even with a lower-end CPU which causes a ton of problems including overheating GPUs and mouse lag issues.

Give it a try.

Another reason you might be feeling the game "lags" is due to the fact that the game dynamics are actually MEANT to feel heavy. The developers talked about this as an integral gameplay mechanic that comes with the character being bound by a massively overweight space suit.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 09:44 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto (North York)
Posts: 214

My System Specs

Default

you can try playing with vsync off. you can fix the high framerate issue by enabling tripple buffering and/or downclocking your video card.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 09:59 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

I get mouse lag as well with the system in my SIG
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2009, 04:56 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Shayan we have almost the same build and I get no lag?? Ea isn't anymore the company it was 5 years ago, they turn like Ubisoft and stop to make really good care of there game after the release date. That really make me WRAAAAAA. I think that V-sync is the problem, or try to turn of blur or anti-blur something like that I don' remember:)

Ask for more.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTT] EVGA GTX 285 1GB for HD4870 X2 anabioz Buy/Sell & Trade 9 July 9, 2009 07:04 AM
EVGA GTX 285 Mac Edition Synth Press Releases & Tech News 25 June 12, 2009 10:48 AM
Is it worth the trouble for stepping up EVGA GTX 260 Core 216SC to GTX 285? appplejack Video Cards 4 February 14, 2009 04:05 PM
[FS] HWC Moving to i7 Sale: BFG GTX 285 OCX & EVGA GTX 280 Superclocked SKYMTL Buy/Sell & Trade 20 January 28, 2009 02:14 PM
Comment Thread for EVGA GTX 285 SSC Review SKYMTL Video Cards 26 January 16, 2009 02:26 PM