Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 06:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonton,Ab Canada
Posts: 10
Default Graphics cards and Memory

What are the advantages to having more memory intensive video cards?
Right now i own a 9800 gtx with 512mb.
Right now i'm running Vista 64 bit with 8 gb ram.
When i try Can i run it on nzone for games it tells me i have 2.5gb of video ram.
I'm confused and looking for answers.Can anybody enlighten me?Peace.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 06:37 PM
Unknownm's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Westminster, B.C
Posts: 209

My System Specs

Default

only advantage I see with a video card with more memory is for GTA 4. Normally the higher resolution you play the higher the memory count is but 512MB is plenty for any standard game.

Has of the nzone telling you have 2.5gb of video card ram I'm not sure
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 07:05 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

The whole point of video memory is to let the video card hold all the necessary information itself, rather than having to constantly fetch and send to the computer's main memory. As a result, once you have enough for a particular program, adding more doesn't really have any effect. It's when you don't have enough that the card is forced to use your regular RAM for storage, which is far slower in comparison, and will generally make your frame rates tank something horrible.

Not sure what the hell requires 2.5GB of video memory, but with higher-end cards, it's actually fairly easy to fill 512MB , which is why there's a lot to be said for 1GB cards, especially since they're usually not that much more expensive.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 07:05 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

Generally speaking, more video card ram does not mean much or no performance increase at all.

The video card RAM is only really there for 3d use for holding the textures that wrap around objects.

In a 2d desktop use in say, WindowsXP, you only need 8 megs of RAM total to run a 24 bit screen at 1600 x 1200

So really, would you take a 9800GT with 2 gigs of RAM over a GTX285 card with half that amount?

Sure, you could load some beautiful looking textures into that 2gb of ram, but could the card manipulate it in real time? Likely not....

Anyway, I digress... could possibly be that NZone 'sees' some sort of buffered video ram from memory like AGP Aperture. My card has 896 megs of ram and I have 8gb....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 07:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonton,Ab Canada
Posts: 10
Default Continuation

My mistake this is what it says:
Nzone i picked Crysis then chose can i run it.
Video Ram:Required-256mb You Have 4gb
Now enlighten me again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 09:33 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

I picked crysis as well... it told me that I have 2.9gigs of video ram. I have no idea why....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 10:05 PM
Safearus's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SSM, Ontario
Posts: 316
Default

As far as I know Crysis by default detects your GPU memory + some of your RAM and tells you that this is your video memory. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong though
__________________
Current Rig: "Έρεβος" -- English: "Erebus" ::
ASUS R.O.G. Crosshair III 790FX
AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.6 Ghz (Feck...)
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Thermaltake Armor
Corsair TX850W
Mushkin HP3 2x2GB DDR3
Samsung SATA DVD-RW

MSI GeForce GTX 275 Twin Frozr
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 10:28 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,954

My System Specs

Default

Well there are some games that need more than 1 GB of ram but there are not that many and only at extreme resolution and AA. So Crysis at 2560 x 1600 with 16xAF and 16xQAA almost takes up 2GB of V-RAM. GTAIV takes a lot of V-RAM as well. It is a benefit but only for rare cases. Also it is a myth that more ram is always better. A 9600 GT with 2GB of ram will not outperform a 9800 GT with 512MB of ram. Also generally if you need more than 1GB of ram you are going to need multiple video cards anyways. For most games though 512 is enough under 1920 x 1200.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 10:41 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
Well there are some games that need more than 1 GB of ram but there are not that many and only at extreme resolution and AA. So Crysis at 2560 x 1600 with 16xAF and 16xQAA almost takes up 2GB of V-RAM. GTAIV takes a lot of V-RAM as well. It is a benefit but only for rare cases. Also it is a myth that more ram is always better. A 9600 GT with 2GB of ram will not outperform a 9800 GT with 512MB of ram. Also generally if you need more than 1GB of ram you are going to need multiple video cards anyways. For most games though 512 is enough under 1920 x 1200.
But will a 9600gt 2gb out perform a 9600gt 512mb?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 11:23 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyhorsejohnny View Post
But will a 9600gt 2gb out perform a 9600gt 512mb?
My guess would be no. If we were talking about a GTX280 or a 4890 then the answer would certainly be different, but I don't think a 9600GT is powerful enough to utilize any more then 512MB in the first place.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mushkin Looks to Produce ATI Graphics Cards FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 13 July 21, 2009 03:08 PM
need advice on graphics cards and hdd dubbaz New Builds 17 January 21, 2009 02:57 PM
Club 3D Introduces GeForce 9500 GT Graphics Cards MAC Press Releases & Tech News 0 July 29, 2008 11:24 PM
First Look: NVIDIA GeForce 9500GT 55nm Graphics Cards MAC Press Releases & Tech News 11 July 9, 2008 07:42 PM
The Best Gaming Graphics Cards for the Money: March 2008 vertex112 Video Cards 2 March 7, 2008 11:38 AM