Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 08:29 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default Quadro and GeForce at the same time?

I currently have a GTX 275. I want to get a Quadro card as I am beginning to use CAD software.

First off, I know that putting these cards in SLI in not an option.

I want to put one card in the first PCIe slot and the second card in the second PCIe slot.

I will then connect one monitor to the GeFore card and another monitor to the Quadro.

I've read that Vista will not support multiple drivers, but XP and Windows 7 will.

Assuming this works, will I have the Quadro performace on one monitor and GeForce performance on the other?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2009, 02:07 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Posts: 53
Default

The configuration might work, but just to be on the safe side, I would get another GTX 275 instead of the Quadro.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2009, 10:58 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

It's not so much that Solidworks is laggy, but rather it is inaccurate. I don't think another gamer card will help my antialiasing and accuracy. Also, when I zoom in and out, it sometimes chokes up for a second, and then it snaps to the view it should have been at.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 07:12 AM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

Quadro cards are the only things that work properly for that. However, there are certain processes that can be completed to make any normal card into a Quadro that involves flashing the card.....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 07:37 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,509

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sushi Warrior View Post
Quadro cards are the only things that work properly for that. However, there are certain processes that can be completed to make any normal card into a Quadro that involves flashing the card.....
And the best part about this is you can do it with last gens cards. Which means its cheap;

8800gt to FX3700
8800gtx to FX4600
GTX260 to FX4800
GTX280 to FX5800

Choose your poison. But I know for the price difference, I would be willing to risk it and flash it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 08:02 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Heh, hmmm.... $140 after MIR or $1799 for the FX4800. Tough choice
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 08:53 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I thought you could trick the Quadro drivers into thinking a card was a Quadro by editing the NV4_disp.inf and you didn't have to flash the BIOS.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 10:44 AM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

The problem with that is that Rivatuner's thing for editing the card's drivers is not supported by Vista, or so I've read. Otherwise, I'd totally do it. If I'm wrong, please let me know.

BTW, by Flashing, do you mean soft modding?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quadro Soft-Mod for Geforce cards??? somecanadianguy Video Cards 4 May 31, 2009 05:07 PM
Question if anyone has the time Soultribunal HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 February 18, 2009 11:22 AM
Geforce + Quadro enzeo Video Cards 2 September 30, 2008 07:24 PM
BFG GeForce 8600GTS OC or XFX GeForce 8600GTS? Song Video Cards 3 August 31, 2007 11:01 AM