Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2009, 10:11 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 2,171

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by upcoast604 View Post
I played COD4/waw and MOH airborne at 1680x1050 4aa/8af nvcp high quality with a 9800gtx+512MB which was a stutter fest. Then I got a gtx280 and not much stutter at all now. A 9800gtx+ and 4850 should have been enough but it appears not, maybe some ppl don't use aa/af. My choice would be the gtx275 or 4890 if I had to buy a card now with 1680x1050 res.
This seems odd, as I've run COD4 and MFS X both on a 6000+ system with 4 GB RAM and a 4850 512MB at over medium settings with 2xaa @ 1680x1050, and I never had any issues. Now, granted, I never tried maxing either of them out, but I also had a much lower overall system than an i7 rig.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2009, 11:54 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 792

My System Specs

Default

I am running the same resolution and I was using a 4870 512mb but I upgraded to a 4890 1Gig. The reason for my upgrade way mainly for the ram so if you are going for a lower card make sure you get one with 1Gig or ram. In Fallout 3 I would sometimes get slow downs at max setting outdoors with the 4870 but with the 4890 those areas are lag free. I can't say for sure if it was the ram or the increased clock speed but my past experiences tell me it was most likely the amount of ram.
__________________
GAMER: Win10 Pro x64, I7 3770K (4.7Ghz) (corsair H110i), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, EVGA GTX 1080 FTW, Gskill 2 x 8 GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, Mx 500 SSD, HX750W, Sound blaster Z, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2009, 11:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Thx for the replies so far, this definitely narrows it down.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2009, 12:20 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 783
Default

I guessed the problem I had with the 9800gtx+512MB 256bit was the lack of ram or bandwidth because the 8800gts640MB 320bit card was much smoother at x4aa on the same cpu. Basically I won't touch another 256bit 512MB card for x4aa.
__________________
Gaming FX 8350 4.4GHZ / Tuniq Tower 120/ MSI GTX 1070 Armor / G Skill 32GB / S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /SSD 240GB , WD1TB FALS, 3TB Toshiba / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 10 64
Daily Use x4 965BE 3.4GHZ/GA 970 Gaming/ Rx 580 8GB /EA750w/4x4GB ram/Win 10 64 and 24TB of hdds
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2009, 02:04 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,762

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by upcoast604 View Post
I guessed the problem I had with the 9800gtx+512MB 256bit was the lack of ram or bandwidth because the 8800gts640MB 320bit card was much smoother at x4aa on the same cpu. Basically I won't touch another 256bit 512MB card for x4aa.
You have to look at what type of GDDR is used too.

@OP. I'd run just a ATI 4870 or GTX260. You can go with a 4850/4830 and GTS250 as well, but seeing how you have a Core i7 rig, might as well spend maybe an extra $30 and go for the higher end GPUs.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2009, 04:10 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,940

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caldezar View Post
This seems odd, as I've run COD4 and MFS X both on a 6000+ system with 4 GB RAM and a 4850 512MB at over medium settings with 2xaa @ 1680x1050, and I never had any issues. Now, granted, I never tried maxing either of them out, but I also had a much lower overall system than an i7 rig.
Not odd at all; I don't know about COD4, but there is a world of difference between medium and ultra settings in FSX.

That game will bring any rig to its knees. That I know.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2009, 06:59 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 610

My System Specs

Default

I recommend getting a single factory-OCed Sapphire 4890 card. There is no need to get an XFX brand. Who cares about better warranty? You're not going to be overclocking additionally anyway. I've always been buying Sapphire cards without any issue.
__________________
Machine: Intel 6800K | Asus X99-E | 32GB Corsair DDR4-2666 | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO NVMe | 6TB WD Black | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | Corsair 750D | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 4GB GTX 970 G1 Windforce | 2 x 27" Samsung S27D390HS PLS | Win10 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A little confused in differences on cards Shadowmeph Video Cards 9 May 4, 2009 10:46 PM
Confused by temperature reports. Maplicito Troubleshooting 13 January 23, 2009 01:40 AM
Confused... encorp CPU's and Motherboards 6 April 28, 2008 11:15 AM
Confused 800mhz vs 1066mhz icodeit RAM 10 January 28, 2008 12:40 PM
I'm now confused Vcore real or not? Delavan Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 June 12, 2007 04:56 AM