Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 02:54 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 55

My System Specs

Default 750W PSU enough?

So, I just purchased 3 x GTX 260 Core 216's (Superclocked version's from EVGA) And I'm not sure if my PSU is really going to be able to support 3 cards, (Right now I've got the Corsair TX750W) With 1 60A 12+v Rail. I'm planning on getting a new PSU as soon as I've got the money for it, but do you think the 750W will hold up until then?

System Specs:
EVGA 790i SLI FTW Digital PWM
Intel C2Q Q8400 @ 3.66 Ghz
8 GB OCZ DDR3 1600 Ram
3 x GTX 260 Core 216's Tri-SLI
2 x 500 GB Seagate's running in RAID 0
1 x 1 TB Seagate For storage.


Thanks,

Forthelulz
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 02:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 55

My System Specs

Default 750W PSU enough?

So, I just purchased 3 x GTX 260 Core 216's (Superclocked version's from EVGA) And I'm not sure if my PSU is really going to be able to support 3 cards, (Right now I've got the Corsair TX750W) With 1 60A 12+v Rail. I'm planning on getting a new PSU as soon as I've got the money for it, but do you think the 750W will hold up until then?

System Specs:
EVGA 790i SLI FTW Digital PWM
Intel C2Q Q8400 @ 3.66 Ghz
8 GB OCZ DDR3 1600 Ram
3 x GTX 260 Core 216's Tri-SLI
2 x 500 GB Seagate's running in RAID 0
1 x 1 TB Seagate For storage.
Corsair TX750W PSU


Thanks,

Forthelulz
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 03:00 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

i don't think that's gonna cut it
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 03:02 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 94
Default

Should be okay, but it's generally best to use a PSU that has enough native connectors for your components.

If you decide to upgrade, I'd recommend the HX850 with 6 PCIe connectors.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 03:12 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

unless you plan on running it at 90% all the time then i would get something bigger. jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 03:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
unless you plan on running it at 90% all the time then i would get something bigger. jmo
Won't get near 90%, 3x ~110W for GPU & ~160W for the rest.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 03:41 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

you be fine, i doubt if you can use all 3 gpus at 100%. so maybe 600w max power draw? (i don't know)

and your running a duo core, can that thing even keep up on 1920x1200 resolution and up?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 03:44 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

lol three posts of the same thing...?
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 03:46 PM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theAnimal View Post
Won't get near 90%, 3x ~110W for GPU & ~160W for the rest.
uhhh...no, the GTX 260 are 170W each
__________________
Quando omni flunkus moritati
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 03:48 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shayan288 View Post
lol three posts of the same thing...?


No kidding eh, for a sec i though i was going crazy due to a lack of sleep
seriously you need to read the rules and the sections topics carefully

THe other two

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...su-enough.html

750W PSU enough?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nvidia GPU mix = EPIC fail? PSU 750W? Help this n00b out! Silvgearx HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 April 6, 2009 04:08 PM
[FS] E8400, 750W Silencer PSU, P5K Deluxe mobo DavidDemise Buy/Sell & Trade 9 March 22, 2009 02:15 AM
Moduler 750W+ PSU Recomendations k4kman Power Supplies 18 March 17, 2009 08:31 AM
[WTB] WTB: Case and PSU 750w+ --- Tonight Table21 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 7, 2009 02:55 PM
750W vs 1000W vinister Power Supplies 0 April 4, 2008 09:52 PM