Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 01:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Montreal CANADuh
Posts: 25
Post Wondering about having 2 video card: ati AND nvidea on same motherboard

Hello all,

I found out that the new generations of motherboard could possibly do so.
Yet, i got myself an old motherboard from Foxconn digital life one.

I am about to put my ati 4890 on it, and i am considering buying an old graphic card such as 8800 ultra or such...or any suggestion for a low budget.

to be able to enable that phys x engin on it.

-------------
1. anyone can suggest me something about that?
2. anyone already tried that?
3. Is it really impossible to configure etc?

thx for your time and answer.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 02:05 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,717
Default

You are aware that you can't crossfire/SLI an ATI with an NVidia right?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 02:27 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

If you are Using XP, most of the time it will boot then go in windows try to load driver and after windows will says WTF!!!! BSOD and reboot. Becasue of a driver conflict.
If you are using vista, after the load of driver one of the 2 card will be ahutted down( the one in the second PCI-e slot ) and driver will probably shit in your hand some time like driver has loss and has recovered few second after.
If using seven, same has vista.

That's what happen most of the time.

Ask for more
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 02:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

You're going to give yourself a headache.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 02:44 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

just buy ati or nvidia and save your self the hassle
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 03:51 PM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default

I'm not sure, I think it will work for XP or window 7 but not Vista.

Anyways, you can always try and experiment.

EDIT: It actually worked for someone ATI+NVIDIA Physx??? yes - techPowerUp! Forums
__________________
Quando omni flunkus moritati
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 06:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Montreal CANADuh
Posts: 25
Default

thx a lot especially rapmaster for showing me a shortcut through the headaches... ^_^
so i guess it is possible... its not just an idea or theorically an option

i guess ill have to buy one and make a review and try it for myself to see how it goes.
no the main time ill try to figure out if window xp 64 bits will cause a problem with the drivers etc.
thx for your time.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 07:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton,Alberta
Posts: 104
Default

Here read this thread
and it does work in XP

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/video-cards/15458-4850-physx.html
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 09:13 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,929

My System Specs

Default

If you REALLY need PhysX hardware support to play the 2 or 3 games that use it properly, you'd be better off finding an old used PhysX card that is just a pure PPU (physics processing unit).
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2009, 07:18 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Montreal CANADuh
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Encruncher View Post
thanks now i just need to receive my case and get an alternativ power supply. I ll tell you guys how it went.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
If you REALLY need PhysX hardware support to play the 2 or 3 games that use it properly, you'd be better off finding an old used PhysX card that is just a pure PPU (physics processing unit).
yes i thought of that too, but taking an pci express slot... jsut for that.
i mean the price of that card would basically be over 100.
which for that price i could find some 8800 ultra for the need.

besides if at one point i want to switch video cards... i could.

umm i need to think about it.
thx guys for your time and advice.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] ATI X850 crossfire edition PCIe video card yamawho Buy/Sell & Trade 9 March 22, 2009 12:29 PM
LF-Cheap ATI video card that can output sound through HDMI. Gunner86 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 November 2, 2008 05:19 PM
FS: Ati Ultimate X1950 pro pci-e video card by sapphire with Just Cause 90$ Ottawa HonkytonkMan Buy/Sell & Trade 3 May 1, 2008 07:27 PM