Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 03:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Default More 4890 discussion..

So, where to begin...I recently purchased an hp a6700y as seen here HP Pavilion a6700y Desktop reviews - CNET Reviews

and put an ati hd 4770 card in it. It runs OK but I'm looking for something with a bit better performance. I'm wondering if I can put a 4890 in but I'm wondering if cooling or anything else is gonna be an issue. Can anybody offer some insight as to if I'm gonna be able to run this card?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 04:06 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Well, you will need to upgrade the PSU if that not already done because it come with a 300W according to HP so...lol? Acording to picture I also think that big card like 4890 will not fit,She is going to hide every single sata port and there is little chance that she get stock on the floppy tray. Airflow is also a BIG ( bigger then what I just wright ) problem. There is a exhaust fan on the rear but not intake? where will the card get some fresh air? from the CPU heatsink? haha. So, no don't do it before changing case and PSU and maybe the board if you want to be able to plug and unplug things without the need of buying new 90 degrees sata cable and have to remove everything to plug or unplug new sata device.

Ask for more
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 04:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
Well, you will need to upgrade the PSU if that not already done because it come with a 300W according to HP so...lol? Acording to picture I also think that big card like 4890 will not fit,She is going to hide every single sata port and there is little chance that she get stock on the floppy tray. Airflow is also a BIG ( bigger then what I just wright ) problem. There is a exhaust fan on the rear but not intake? where will the card get some fresh air? from the CPU heatsink? haha. So, no don't do it before changing case and PSU and maybe the board if you want to be able to plug and unplug things without the need of buying new 90 degrees sata cable and have to remove everything to plug or unplug new sata device.

Ask for more

I forgot to say I got a cooler master 600w power supply too, and another thing if i remove my lower disk drive expansion bay I should be able to fit the actual card in with room for cables.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 05:47 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

the PSU will be enough you only have to look at the card going over the SATA port and your airflow, with what I have seen in this case your card will die ( artifact ) fast because of heat. try to find a way to put any good intake infront of the case ( will need to remove the front panel ).
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 06:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
the PSU will be enough you only have to look at the card going over the SATA port and your airflow, with what I have seen in this case your card will die ( artifact ) fast because of heat. try to find a way to put any good intake infront of the case ( will need to remove the front panel ).

I opened this case up and took a temp reading...40 degrees Celsius with only the 4770, and thats a 40nm card! I put a really small fan next to it that's real quiet and it dropped 5 degrees C. I guess I'll have to invest in a new case anyways. As it is I'm almost considering getting the gtx 260 core 216. Most of the benchmarks I've seen it's been really close behind the 4890, and in some cases it even beats it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 06:36 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 267
Default

I don't know how big of a display your using but anything over 22in on a single GTX 260 I would recommend against it based on my personal experiences with that card, especially in a case like yours. Right now I have a antec 1200 case and a gtx 260 core 216 and it (being the card) overheats when running games like fallout3 and bioshock at max resolution even with after market cooling. Keep in mind tho I am playing at 1920X 1200 tho.

*edit* for spelling
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 06:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gameplaywarrior View Post
I don't know how big of a display your using but anything over 22in on a single GTX 260 I would recommend against it especially in a case like yours. Right now I have a antec 1200 case and a gtx 260 core 216 and it (being the card) overheats when running games like fallout3 and bioshock at max resolution even with after market cooling. Keep in mind tho I am playing at 1920X 1200 tho.

I'm running a 20 inch flatpanel.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 06:40 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 267
Default

You should be fine then but as other's suggested I would recommend looking at upgrading you cooling.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 07:08 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

i don't think its the ati 4770's problem.

it seems more like an CPU problem, 1.8ghz quad might be holding it back, but i could be wrong I just happen to notice i get more FPS on a 3.6ghz dual core compared to a 2.4ghz quad.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 07:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
i don't think its the ati 4770's problem.

it seems more like an CPU problem, 1.8ghz quad might be holding it back, but i could be wrong I just happen to notice i get more FPS on a 3.6ghz dual core compared to a 2.4ghz quad.

Yeah pretty much everything bottlenecks with the 1.8 but it's just gonna happen. I'm willing to accept that lol, I'll have to do some extra cooling I guess.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PhysX Discussion geokilla Video Cards 16 April 2, 2009 10:15 PM
local pc shop discussion Il Duce Off Topic 23 September 13, 2008 06:01 AM
HCF F@H discussion Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 205 June 19, 2008 11:08 AM
Phenom Preview Discussion Thread Misoprostol CPU's and Motherboards 34 December 14, 2007 02:00 AM
GPU Round Up Discussion Thread Misoprostol Water Cooling 18 July 17, 2007 07:22 PM