Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 10:19 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default Dummy plug?

Hi guys, Today a little brained custumer ask me if I was abble to make him a VGA dummy plug? What the hell is that? Am I really noob not to know this or it's only something that is really wierd like the Man bear pig?
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 10:21 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

Well a VGA dummy plug is used when you have a card in SLI/Crossfire and you want to fold on it (aka your second card) and it makes it think a monitor is hooked up to it so you can actually fold on it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 10:22 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Us 'Folders' use a VGA dummy plug to make the GPU 'believe' that there are two screens attached to it. Here is a great picture explanation of what it is. Very easy to make! :)
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 11:12 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,743

My System Specs

Default

.. silly folders. The use of said plugs is not restricted to folding.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2009, 09:47 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,684

My System Specs

Default

The 30 Second Dummy Plug - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net

I have made a few.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2009, 03:52 PM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Now that is cool... I learned something new today
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2009, 03:54 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Thx all and Thx cdn now I know I was not the only who wasn't knowing about dummy plug, I'm feeling less stupid:)
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2009, 03:54 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

And Knowing is Half the Battle!





G.I. JOEEEEEEEE!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2009, 08:30 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
Thx all and Thx cdn now I know I was not the only who wasn't knowing about dummy plug, I'm feeling less stupid:)
Maybe you could edit your original post to reflect your new found knowlegde?

Quote:
a little brained custumer
Also it is spelled 'customer'.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2009, 09:54 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bismarck ND
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRQ Conflict View Post
Maybe you could edit your original post to reflect your new found knowlegde?

Also it is spelled 'customer'.

"Maybe" English is a second language to him.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resistors for VGA Dummy Plug Prof. Dr. Silver HardwareCanucks F@H Team 25 August 24, 2011 06:04 AM
Anyone know where I can buy a Free standing Boxing Dummy in the GTA? AERo Off Topic 7 June 28, 2009 04:54 PM
Xonar dx plug in power WolfBane Audio 1 December 22, 2008 09:47 AM
Can you plug a 3870 x2 into a 780g? supernode Video Cards 6 September 13, 2008 02:51 PM
xfx motherboard, vreg fan plug?? Ukonjack Troubleshooting 1 December 3, 2007 09:27 PM