Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 08:23 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Campbell River B.C
Posts: 148
Default increasing the voltage on a hd 4890

has anyone tried increasing the voltage on a 4890 yet ?

how did you make out ?
what program did you use ?
what were your results ?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 08:26 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

I did the pencil mod to my 4850, worked great. Got 1.37v core (on water).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 08:38 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Campbell River B.C
Posts: 148
Default

nice !

how much difference did it make on overclocking ?

before and after ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 09:14 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

If I recall I went from 750 to 830.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2009, 12:33 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

Haven't tried it but RBE from techPowerUp should work to edit the voltages on the HD 4890.

Edit: From what I've read the HD 4890 likes 1.4v for a speed bump to 1Ghz from the stock 1.325v 850Mhz. Watch your cooling though.

Last edited by IRQ Conflict; June 23, 2009 at 01:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2009, 01:02 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 599

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bc_tileguy View Post
what program did you use ?
Try this if you know what are you doing.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2009, 09:07 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Campbell River B.C
Posts: 148
Default

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2009, 10:37 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

as soon as I get my asus 4890 top, and as soon as I figure out how to do it, I'll post the card's bios on the forums.
It would allow you to use the software included to increase the voltage via software. (asus 4890 voltage tweak)
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 07:03 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Campbell River B.C
Posts: 148
Default

thanks but i would rather not flash the bios on my cards
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how much more nb voltage. kyle_L Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 May 24, 2009 07:31 PM
Voltage setup when OC Wurmer Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 February 20, 2009 04:36 PM
Voltage advice. encorp Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 November 20, 2008 11:49 PM
Over Voltage a35599 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 February 26, 2008 10:21 PM
What is Stock Voltage? mattydies Video Cards 10 October 19, 2007 10:01 PM