Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2009, 09:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26
Default Problems with 4870..

Once again I am back... I posted a while ago because i had problems with my video card artifacting. Most suggested I get a new PSU and some suggested I get try using vista (had windows 7 installed). I still have the same problems, but it's not as bad as before. I have the latest drivers and I just built a brand new computer. Here's my specs.

Vista Ultimate SP2 32 bit
  • G.SKILL F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ PC2-8000 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-1000 CL5-5-5-15 240PIN Dual Channel Memory Kit
  • Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 Dual Core Processor LGA775 2.5GHZ 800FSB 2MB Retail Box
  • Asus P5Q Pro Atx LGA775 P45 DDR2 2PCI-E16 Crossfire 3PCI-E1 2PCI SATA2 Sound Gblan Esata Motherboard
  • Sapphire Radeon Hd 4870 512MB GDDR5 PCI-E 2XDVI-I Video Card
  • Corsair TX750W 750W ATX 12V 60A 24PIN ATX Power Supply Active PFC 140MM Fan
Here's a pic of what my problem looks like, although it's not as bad as that.
http://hem.bredband.net/bridah/BF2_77.50_AGP_D3D_00.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2009, 09:46 PM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 381
Default

So you've checked the temperature while under load? have you tried under-clocking your card a little to see if that helps?
__________________
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2009, 09:46 PM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

Suggesting this, maybe a cooling problem? Can it cause artifacting?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2009, 10:00 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26
Default

Weird thing is, I used the Artifact scanner in ATI Tool and I get no artifacts. Temperatures never got over 60C (I'm assuming this is normal, as my 8800 GTS got to 80C under load and it never had problems..) I haven't tried underclocking though, so I'll try that.

edit: Underclocked the GPU core to 500 MHz. I had less artifacts, but they were still there.

Last edited by panzival; June 10, 2009 at 10:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 06:20 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Use GPU-Z (or Rivatuner I believe) and get the temperature of the VRMs because they get EXTREMELY hot and are likely the cause of your problems. You can also try running stock clock speed again and set the fan to 100% and see if that helps. If it does, there is some sort of temperature problem. I'm pretty sure that is what it is as the 4870's VRMs are known for getting extremely hot.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 02:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRox View Post
Use GPU-Z (or Rivatuner I believe) and get the temperature of the VRMs because they get EXTREMELY hot and are likely the cause of your problems. You can also try running stock clock speed again and set the fan to 100% and see if that helps. If it does, there is some sort of temperature problem. I'm pretty sure that is what it is as the 4870's VRMs are known for getting extremely hot.
Ok here's what I got from the GPU-Z. I don't see a VRM temp anywhere so I'll just post the sensor screen from GPU-Z. I've also noticed that putting the fan from anywhere to 60%-100% doesn't lower the temperature. It always stays at around 39C - 40C anywhere past 60%+

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 02:41 PM
Cranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 149
Default

Heat is definitely the major cause of artifacting. Your issue probably is not the card per se but your tower not being able to provide enough "cooler" air to your card's intake. My tower has a side intake fan and a top exhaust fan to help with keeping my pig cool. The 4870 series cards are notorious heat whores. That all being said, some games are "driver issue" driven to cause artifacting. STALKER was a particular finicky game for artifacting even though my temps were low.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe / Intel Core2Quad Q9550@8x425@3400mhz(1.225v) / Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro / 4Gigs DDR2 1066mhz(5-5-5-15) Corsair Dominator / Diamond HD4870x2 / Asus Xonar / WD Raptor 74gb / Hitachi 160GB / Antec Quattro 850w / Logitech Z-680 5.1 / Dell Ultrasharp 24" / 2 LG Optical Drives / Vista Ultimate 32bit / A tower that's been drilled, cut, and bent to fit all of my fans
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 02:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cranky View Post
Heat is definitely the major cause of artifacting. Your issue probably is not the card per se but your tower not being able to provide enough "cooler" air to your card's intake. My tower has a side intake fan and a top exhaust fan to help with keeping my pig cool. The 4870 series cards are notorious heat whores. That all being said, some games are "driver issue" driven to cause artifacting. STALKER was a particular finicky game for artifacting even though my temps were low.
I've got an Antec 900, so my tower shouldn't be the problem. And the games I've tried to test my 4870 out on are Far Cry 2, Crysis: Warhead, Age of Conan, and World of Warcraft. Only Crysis has major artifacts. The others have very little artifacts.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 02:56 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

RMA that card, usually bad mem peice that causes those sort of artifacts, or very low ram voltage.


My cards hit 115c @ load, even to the point that they throttle...no artifacts. RMA for sure. The reason Crysis is the only other is most liekly to VGA ram use...try like GTA4 if you can, or crank up the AA and see what happens...and I do not see this in Crysis myself.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 03:04 PM
Cranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 149
Default

I just noticed in your GPU-Z the core was at 760, isn't stock suppose to be 750? If that is the case, some cards just can't overclock no matter what, and that will definitely cause artifacting. If you still have artifacting at 750 then do as cadaveca says and RMA it. The rest of your hardware is more than adequate to run your card.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe / Intel Core2Quad Q9550@8x425@3400mhz(1.225v) / Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro / 4Gigs DDR2 1066mhz(5-5-5-15) Corsair Dominator / Diamond HD4870x2 / Asus Xonar / WD Raptor 74gb / Hitachi 160GB / Antec Quattro 850w / Logitech Z-680 5.1 / Dell Ultrasharp 24" / 2 LG Optical Drives / Vista Ultimate 32bit / A tower that's been drilled, cut, and bent to fit all of my fans
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with a 4870 panzival Video Cards 23 May 26, 2009 04:03 PM
4870 512Mb VS 4870 1Gb ddude27 Video Cards 4 April 30, 2009 12:57 AM
[FS] Diamond 4870, XSPC Razor 4870 Block SugarJ Buy/Sell & Trade 4 March 26, 2009 02:26 PM
Video upgrade - 4870 1GB vs 4870 X2 Maplicito New Builds 10 February 24, 2009 11:40 AM
Radeon 4870 Video Display Problems magixx Troubleshooting 2 October 3, 2008 12:54 PM