Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2009, 04:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default Does the 9400 GT 1024MB PCI Express 2.0 work on PCI Express x16 slot?

hi everyone
i have a intel motherboard D946GZis with a intel Core Duo 3.4 Ghz 4Mo L2 Cache Memory processor, and a 3072Mo of DDR2 Ram on a Windows XP as a OS!
my brother bought for me a Nvidia 9400GT pci-e 2.0
so i wonder if the 9400GT will work on my computer properly, i've googled the question and i found that will work, but i'm still wondering if it will work properly or with a limitation ?
thank you for reading and i'm looking forward of your answers and ideas !
ps: my brother live abroad, so for the moment i don't have the Video Card on my hands!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2009, 05:14 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

as its state from the intel site.

it does support PCIE

PCI Express* Interface The PCI Express x16 graphics interface supports the latest high-performance graphics cards. The PCI Express x1 I/O ports offer up to 3.5X the bandwidth over traditional PCI architecture, delivering faster access to peripheral I/O devices.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2009, 05:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default

thank you 5ILVgeARX for your answer so the VCard will work

properly

<= (read the last word)
thank you again
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2009, 06:02 PM
FtGF's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 410

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aleo View Post
thank you 5ILVgeARX for your answer so the VCard will work

properly

<= (read the last word)
thank you again
Wow don't know how to take that last post. I hope you're not being an . Ya the card will work "properly". The only limitation is the card itself!
__________________
Fight the Good Fight


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2009, 06:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FtGF View Post
Wow don't know how to take that last post. I hope you're not being an . Ya the card will work "properly". The only limitation is the card itself!
ok ok tnx
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2009, 07:25 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

To answer what I think the more crucial question is, "PCI-E x16" and "PCI-E 2.0" aren't necessarily different things. The "x16" just means that there are 16 data connection paths in the slot, and this corresponds to a certain slot size on the motherboard. The "2.0" refers to the generation of PCI-E slot compatibility. So it's possible to have a PCI-E x16 slot that's either first or second generation. However, even if the motherboard slot is only first generation (like yours should be), the specs say that PCI-E 2.0 devices (like your video card) are supposed to be able to work without trouble in earlier slots.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2009, 07:55 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Posting in an epic thread lol ;)
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2009, 03:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
Posting in an epic thread lol ;)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2009, 04:41 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
Posting in an epic thread lol ;)

:r ofl:

nicely said

@FtGF thanks for your comment bro
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2009, 06:47 PM
FtGF's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 410

My System Specs

Default

No prob!
__________________
Fight the Good Fight


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TV card looks wrong in PCI express x16 slot cappaj1 Video Cards 4 June 4, 2009 07:34 PM
PCI Express 1.1 Bottleneck? Chos3n CPU's and Motherboards 3 April 16, 2009 07:08 AM
[WTB] AMD or INTEL motherboard with 3-4 PCI Express 16X Slots elec999 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 28, 2009 08:23 PM
pci express evzonas Video Cards 3 August 31, 2008 09:02 AM
8800GTX PCI Express speed decrease with Forceware 158.45 magictorch Video Cards 1 June 16, 2007 08:01 PM