Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 5, 2009, 11:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Default question about physx

now that im using windows 7 and am noticing some problems when running games with physx on my 4870x2 how would a 8800gt fair as a dedicated physx card.
Old June 6, 2009, 12:24 AM
MVP
F@H

My System Specs

Well thanks to the folks here on HWC I'm now an official unofficial expert on the matter,lol. Your having problems with your physx games because ATI doesn't support physx, but judging from your comment you already knew that. So I would say that whatever problem your having is probably Windows 7 related. Win7 may not have full support for the physx software. For the second part of your question I'm pretty sure you can't run a Nvidia card and and ATI card at the same time regardless of what you plan to do with the 8800. You can however still buy stand alone physx cards from ASUS and BFG, and that would enable you to use your 4870 with physx support.

http://lh4.ggpht.com/nightwarp/R7YQuMGt-JI/AAAAAAAADoQ/KVuthG6qJfE/s400/Supportourtroops-2.jpg

Old June 6, 2009, 01:03 AM
Allstar

you actually CAN use a nvidia card as physx for an ATI vga. although i believe this is limited to vista(dunno if its compatible with win7). theres some settings you have to tinker with; someone more knowledgable can hepl you with that
Old June 6, 2009, 01:08 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

well i stumbeld upon this befor my question and forgot to add it so here it is ATI + Nvidia for physx? YES! - [H]ard|Forum
this is what made me think of this while im trying to figure out what to do with the card after i get it back.
Old June 13, 2009, 02:32 PM
MVP

My System Specs