Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2009, 12:06 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 578

My System Specs

Default Flashing GTX 275 with FTW bios

From what I understand, the hardware is identical, so replacing the bios should be safe, if warranty is not one's concern.

This is what I collected so far:

- Nvidia BIOS Modification Guide v1.0 :
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/24...s-modification
Nvidia BIOS flashing - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net

- EGVA GTX 275 bios download list:
techPowerUp! :: Video Bios Collection

- latest nvFlash v5.72:
ReMOSitory :: mvk.tech :: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295 285 275 260 ATI Radeon HD 4890 4870 4850 4830 :: MVKTech :: On the Edge of Technology


Problems:

- nvFlash requires DOS environment. Boot CDs found on these sites don't have SATA CD\DVD drive drivers:
Windows 98 Boot Disk Download | AllBootDisks - Providing Free Boot Disks from MS-DOS to Windows XP.
Bootdisk.Com

- my mobo doesn't support booting from USB

- I haven't seen floppy in 10 years

- there's a windows based nvFlash, but it's for 32bit windows only:
Using nvFlash - SLI Zone Forums

Basically looking for a bootable DVD with nvFlash that will work with my hardware.

Last edited by artistpavel; June 21, 2009 at 06:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2009, 01:09 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

Use something like the ultimate boot cd to boot to a 32bit windows environment. UBCD for Windows

You can still access your hard drive and run a windows based nvflash from there.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2009, 01:14 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,479

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artistpavel View Post
From what I understand, the hardware is identical, so replacing the bios should be safe, if warranty is not one's concern.

This is what I collected so far:

- Nvidia BIOS Modification Guide v1.0 :
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/24...s-modification

- EGVA GTX 275 bios download list:
techPowerUp! :: Video Bios Collection

- latest nvFlash v5.72:
ReMOSitory :: mvk.tech :: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295 285 275 260 ATI Radeon HD 4890 4870 4850 4830 :: MVKTech :: On the Edge of Technology


Problems:

- nvFlash requires DOS environment. Boot CDs found on these sites don't have SATA CD\DVD drive drivers:
Windows 98 Boot Disk Download | AllBootDisks - Providing Free Boot Disks from MS-DOS to Windows XP.
Bootdisk.Com

- my mobo doesn't support booting from USB

- I haven't seen floppy in 10 years

- there's a windows based nvFlash, but it's for 32bit windows only:
Using nvFlash - SLI Zone Forums

Basically looking for a bootable DVD with nvFlash that will work with my hardware.
Really? The P5Q doesnt support USB booting? Are you 100% certain on this?

p5q didn't boot from usb
This also says you should be able to USB boot...I found another 3 to 4 results on Google stating it can be done too. Check your bios!

The other option would probably be to try something like a BartPE cd with nvFlash integrated, since its a winXP environment. You can google to find anything regarding this better then I could explain. But before doing that, I would confirm 100% that you cant boot from USB.

As for the flash. It works just fine. Mine is flashed FTW. You've done your research, so get that USB boot working, and get to 'er!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2009, 02:48 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

I've never done it, but can't a person run two cards in order to flash one from within windows? I've always got some old PCI cards kicking around for these kinds of things.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2009, 03:41 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 578

My System Specs

Default

This is my board, the manual doesn't say anything about USB boot, and most Google articles point to other models from P5Q series, I see 'Removable Device' in the option, not sure what they mean by that, maybe I'm preparing the USB wrong:



ASUSTeK Computer Inc.

it looks like using UBCD requires more knowledge, than I have, it needs to be created by user using XP disk.
I'm gonna install Windows7 RC1 now and see if their native virtual XP mode works.
using PCI card won't help because I need 32 bit XP to run nvFlash from Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2009, 03:43 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

The removable device they mean is the USB key. Set that to boot first, make a bootable USB like on the sticky posted on these forums, and you are set.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2009, 03:50 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 578

My System Specs

Default

Yes, I set to be the first priority, since then I made bootable USBs 2 or 3 times, but they never boot, I'll try again.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2009, 04:35 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,479

My System Specs

Default

Yep, as said. "Removable device" is what you want.

Steps to creating a USB DOS disk are as follows:

1) Make the USB stick bootable (google programs out there for this. The most common is a HP exe program that floats around)
2) Format the stick to boot to DOS (You'll need win98 dos files for this, again, google it or supply your own from the back of your closet...atleast if you're at my house anyways )
3) ???
4) Profit! (no really you're done)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2009, 04:52 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Everytime I've flashed a GPU BIOS with new speeds, I always made sure that the card was stable at those speeds. Remember that for factory oc'ed cards, binning of the chips was done, and only the cream of the crop made it on the factory oc'ed PCUs. It does not mean that your chip can handle those speeds.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2009, 06:04 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Everytime I've flashed a GPU BIOS with new speeds, I always made sure that the card was stable at those speeds. Remember that for factory oc'ed cards, binning of the chips was done, and only the cream of the crop made it on the factory oc'ed PCUs. It does not mean that your chip can handle those speeds.
Thanks Charlie it was about time someone mentioned the *risk factor*

Good luck with your bios flash.

EE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 260 SLI or GTX 275? CORE Video Cards 1 May 26, 2009 07:39 PM
[WTB] GTX 260 core 216 or GTX 275/280 MrFoxx Buy/Sell & Trade 3 May 12, 2009 04:46 PM
8800GT Bios Flashing Guides MajorBuzzon Video Cards 3 June 1, 2008 10:34 PM