Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2009, 08:28 PM
Pelt's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stewiacke, Nova Scotia
Posts: 360

My System Specs

Default

My first instinct would be that the power supply just isn't cutting it for your setup. There may not be enough power on the 12 volt rail to get the job done. I would stop messing around with the computer to prevent any further damage to the board. Get yourself a good quality power supply at least a 650 watt I would recommend a Thermal take tough power their realiable and affordable and they provide stable power. I also recommend PC Power & Cooling PSU's and they can be purchased at very reasonalble prices.

I've looked around the web and I can't find any breakdowns on how the power is distrubuted on your retail plus powersupply, also I can't find the manufature website for the supply so It;s a good bet that it is not of high quality. The more I think about it the more it seems that you need a new PSU sorry mate, it's going to cost you atleast 150 bucks after taxes for a good PSU, but it's what you need to get that sweet card working.
__________________

http://lh4.ggpht.com/nightwarp/R7YQuMGt-JI/AAAAAAAADoQ/KVuthG6qJfE/s400/Supportourtroops-2.jpg



Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2009, 08:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomek View Post
Could it be to do w/ the fact the Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit is not out yet?
Both ATI and NVidia make drivers for Windows 7 and I haven't had a problem with it before (my old card was a 8800 GTS).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pelt View Post
My first instinct would be that the power supply just isn't cutting it for your setup. There may not be enough power on the 12 volt rail to get the job done. I would stop messing around with the computer to prevent any further damage to the board. Get yourself a good quality power supply at least a 650 watt I would recommend a Thermal take tough power their realiable and affordable and they provide stable power. I also recommend PC Power & Cooling PSU's and they can be purchased at very reasonalble prices.

I've looked around the web and I can't find any breakdowns on how the power is distrubuted on your retail plus powersupply, also I can't find the manufature website for the supply so It;s a good bet that it is not of high quality. The more I think about it the more it seems that you need a new PSU sorry mate, it's going to cost you atleast 150 bucks after taxes for a good PSU, but it's what you need to get that sweet card working.
Alright thanks. I was starting to think that as well. Any time I try to start a game after a few minutes my computer just completely shuts down. Also, would any of these PSUs cut it? I'm trying to keep it under $100.

Newegg.ca - Rosewill RG630-2 630W 80Plus Certified, ATX12V v2.3, SLI Ready, Active-PFC Power Supply, UL,FCC,CE,CB,ROHS - Power Supplies
Newegg.ca - RAIDMAX AURORA 2 RX-700F 700W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Power Supply - Power Supplies
Newegg.ca - COOLMAX CUG-700B 700W ATX12V v2.2 / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies
NCIX.com - Buy OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W ATX 20/24PIN SLI Ready Modular Cables 135MM Fan 80PLUS Power Supply - OCZ700MXSP In Canada.

Last edited by panzival; May 25, 2009 at 08:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2009, 09:18 PM
Pelt's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stewiacke, Nova Scotia
Posts: 360

My System Specs

Default

I would recommend the OCZ for your build the 700w has 25 watts on the 12 volt rail which is plenty for you 4870 it's also a recommended PSU listed on AMD's website here's that link if you want to explore more options Power Supplies Certified for Single Card Operation

I'm not saying the other PSU's you've listed wouldn't be able to do the job it's just that I don't personally have experience with them so I don't want to recommend something I haven't used. Also OCZ is a respected company, so if you need to RMA for any reason you should have little problem.

Whatever you decide please remember that your PSU is about the most important component of your PC, especially when it comes to powering higher end components like your 4870. I'm confident that your problem from your description is PSU related, but before you put down your hard earned money let's wait for a second opinion from some of the other more experinced folks on the forum.
__________________

http://lh4.ggpht.com/nightwarp/R7YQuMGt-JI/AAAAAAAADoQ/KVuthG6qJfE/s400/Supportourtroops-2.jpg



Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2009, 09:22 PM
Pelt's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stewiacke, Nova Scotia
Posts: 360

My System Specs

Default

I've just noticed that the Coolmax CUG-700B is listed by AMD has a recommended PSU for the 4870 and it is a bit cheaper than the OCZ plus you won't need to wait around for your rebate.
__________________

http://lh4.ggpht.com/nightwarp/R7YQuMGt-JI/AAAAAAAADoQ/KVuthG6qJfE/s400/Supportourtroops-2.jpg



Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2009, 09:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26
Default

Alright thanks a bunch for the help. I'll wait for a bit to see if anyone else has a different opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2009, 09:41 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,706

My System Specs

Default

I'd agree with it probably being the PSU. There were lots of people whose PSU's couldn't run the 4870's when they came out. Fortunately, I wasn't one of them.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2009, 10:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
I'd agree with it probably being the PSU. There were lots of people whose PSU's couldn't run the 4870's when they came out. Fortunately, I wasn't one of them.
Alright thanks. Guess it time to buy a new PSU
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2009, 11:17 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,631
Default

Let me get this right;

1 - You had a 8800GTS and then installed Windows 7 Beta/RC, used Windows 7 Beta/RC for a small while, had proper nVidia drivers installed, etc.
2 - Decide to buy a 4870, and run a driver cleaner application and attempt to remove all traces and possible drivers of the 8800GTS
3 - Install 4870 and proper drivers, and your having issues,

While I agree you could do with a better PSU, am I the only one who sees whats wrong with the above picture? Try with a fresh install of Windows, I'm sorry but the Driver cleaning apps, all of them, have not been created to deal with/work in Windows 7. Even if Windows 7 was completed(which its not), any software which modify the drivers of said OS, should not be TRUSTED until its been proven, by the creator of said software to work properly.

Did you ever think that maybe something has changed in Windows 7 from Vista on the driver level? What worked(cleaning wise) in Vista may not work in Windows 7. Try a new install FIRST before resorting to spending money on a new PSU which may not be needed or solve the problem.

Hopefully a new OS install would work, but if not I'd say your in need of a new PSU.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2009, 06:03 AM
Pelt's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stewiacke, Nova Scotia
Posts: 360

My System Specs

Default

That's good advice from Chilly and it may save you a few bucks and headaches down the road, especially if you buy a new PSU and it doesn't fix the problem. It doesn't cost anything to do a clean install I would start with what worked with your 8800 and use Vista first then if it works, reload Win 7.

Sharp eyes Chilly, I was up late last night and didn't properly read his whole post, glad someone did. I still think the PSU is the culprit but reloading Vista and Win7 isn't going to hurt and proper troubleshooting habits established now will save you money someday down the road.
__________________

http://lh4.ggpht.com/nightwarp/R7YQuMGt-JI/AAAAAAAADoQ/KVuthG6qJfE/s400/Supportourtroops-2.jpg



Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2009, 11:02 AM
Pelt's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stewiacke, Nova Scotia
Posts: 360

My System Specs

Default

One last thing Panzival, please let us know what worked to fix your problem. When folks stop by the site it's usually because they are troubleshooting a problem and they might have one similar to your's, so it would be nice to know if the suggestions provided worked or not.
__________________

http://lh4.ggpht.com/nightwarp/R7YQuMGt-JI/AAAAAAAADoQ/KVuthG6qJfE/s400/Supportourtroops-2.jpg



Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4870 1gb vs 4870 2gb MrFoxx Video Cards 28 May 11, 2009 07:07 AM
4870 512Mb VS 4870 1Gb ddude27 Video Cards 4 April 30, 2009 12:57 AM
[FS] Diamond 4870, XSPC Razor 4870 Block SugarJ Buy/Sell & Trade 4 March 26, 2009 02:26 PM
Video upgrade - 4870 1GB vs 4870 X2 Maplicito New Builds 10 February 24, 2009 12:40 PM
Radeon 4870 Video Display Problems magixx Troubleshooting 2 October 3, 2008 12:54 PM