Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 08:20 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 245
Default Am I going to kill my Graphics Card? LOL

So I just picked up a MONSTER of a monitor. Samsung 2693HM (26"), and I now run 1900x1200 res (which is a shame, because on a monitor that big, I think I would actually like to run higher LOL). ANYWAY, I used to have crossfire 4850's, but now I just have a single 4850 (had to swap out the second one for an HTPC build).

is my poor card going to handle this whilte gaming? or is it time to start looking into an upgrade?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 08:26 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs

Default

Basically you're going to need another card if you want to play at your resolution. You can turn down your settings, but then it wouldn't feel like a good investment into your LCD.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 08:29 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bojangles View Post
Basically you're going to need another card if you want to play at your resolution. You can turn down your settings, but then it wouldn't feel like a good investment into your LCD.
+1. A single 4850 cannot handle that high res. At least get a second one and Xfire it again.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 08:43 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 245
Default

yah, thats what I figured....ok, well here's the thing. I can rip out my old on from my HTPC for the time being, and crossfire it again (thank goodness for onboard graphics :P)

BUT.... will 2 4850's power that res ok? or would I be better off to pick something else up?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 09:21 AM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

I guess it would be 2x512 mo? If so i think it's gonna be pretty much enough. I suggest you take it back form your htpc, and buy a htpc oriented gpu, something weaker,quiter and of course, cheaper.

If you absolutely want to keep your cards like they are, well buy another 4850 512mo or 1go. Or maybe even he 4850x2 if you have the money for it... although i ignore if that card is good and worth it.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 09:28 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTheEnchanter View Post
I guess it would be 2x512 mo? If so i think it's gonna be pretty much enough. I suggest you take it back form your htpc, and buy a htpc oriented gpu, something weaker,quiter and of course, cheaper.

If you absolutely want to keep your cards like they are, well buy another 4850 512mo or 1go. Or maybe even he 4850x2 if you have the money for it... although i ignore if that card is good and worth it.
yah, they are 2x512's. I'll steal back the card for now. The reason I threw it in my HTPC is that I do "occasionally" game on it. its a huge pain to swap gpu's, and at the time I only had a 20" monitor, so 2 4850's was overkill. I'll either pick up another HTPC card, but it might not be worth it, seeing as I want to be able to handle the lasted games (maybe not at max res, but at least 1280x720) OR I can sell off my 4850 and upgrade! LOL is there a single card out there that would perform at 1900x1200? (ie NOT a dual processor card like the 4870x2)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 09:54 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,828
Default

As single HD 4850 can handle that res just fine as long as you don't expect to play games like Far Cry 2, Crysis or the like with higher IQ settings.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 10:03 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
As single HD 4850 can handle that res just fine as long as you don't expect to play games like Far Cry 2, Crysis or the like with higher IQ settings.
-2 games on my "to beat" list
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2009, 10:43 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,583

My System Specs

Default

Steal back the 4850, and drop that passive 4770 that is on the market into your HTPC!

Double win!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU vs. Graphics Card for Gaming Awk76 New Builds 4 March 6, 2009 09:13 AM
[WTB] Want to buy a good Graphics card. bufa Buy/Sell & Trade 9 February 13, 2009 10:47 AM
Graphics Card Guide Cranky Video Cards 1 December 8, 2008 08:06 AM
The 4870 1 GB Graphics Card! bojangles Video Cards 4 September 27, 2008 07:26 AM
Need Graphics Card dozer951 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 September 10, 2008 12:43 AM