Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2009, 08:59 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default Tri Sli..Gotta Try It!

Well....I managed to stumble into this one and couldn't resist...especially at $359

Not sure about Newegg, but we'll see...
Its the BFG OCX Edition so the Clock speeds will be very close (if not slightly more) than my present Evga SSC Editions....I'm pretty sure (unless Drivers have changed things), that the lowest Clock Speeds of the Cards will dictate the overall speed.

Newegg.ca - BFG Tech BFGEGTX2801024OCXE GeForce GTX 280 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Can't wait to try it out. I'll have to disconnect the 2nd 8 Pin CPU plug from my Classified in order to to utilize the 3rd set of 6 Pin and 8 Pin plugs on the Corsair HX PSU...although I have been told the 2nd 8 Pin is not required unless extreme OC'ing.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2009, 10:32 PM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 383
Default

I've had a good experience ordering from newegg. Mind you they charge a hefty handling fee for shipping from the states.

Too bad you didnt catch the deal when they had bfg gtx280's for 290 with shipping. Either way you got one hell of a set up with tri sli 280's.
__________________
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2009, 10:37 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Mind you they charge a hefty handling fee for shipping from the states.
That was $359 CDN ordered from Newegg.ca



Yeah I'm second guessing now...wondering about my PSU...hhhhmmmm

3 x GTX 280's under full load = approx. 720W + OC'd I7 (3.8 Ghz) approx. 250W = 970W on my HX 1kW.....

I really don't want to buy another PSU :(. ......shit.....I don't know now.....could cancel the order.....

Wonder what Kruzin has for a PSU on his Tri Sli set-u....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 06:59 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Kruz runs a TT 1.2Kw.

To give you a benchmark, my Main rig with oc'ed 260s, oc'ed i7 at full load needs 495W (Zalman), or 475W (APC software). It runs with a TX750W.
The Folding rig with stock 275s, stock i7 needs 413W (APC software, no load on the CPU yet). It runs with an EliteXstream 1Kw.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 10:21 AM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,933

My System Specs

Default

Well you can do what I did and buy a dedicated GPU power supply W0158RU THERMALTAKE 650W TOUGHPOWER from Onhop Online Computer Store at Onhop.ca. That one should be enough to power all three just by itself.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 10:30 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

how would you tell the power supply how much current to give each card? more specifically, how did you get this to work?

I though about doing something similar but quickly discarded the thought when it occurred to me that I would have to turn on the second power supply somehow.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 10:33 AM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 383
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
That was $359 CDN ordered from Newegg.ca

Yep, but all they're warehouses are in the states, so they charged me something like a $30 handling fee when I had free shipping. I think its to pay for they're deal with ups to prevent customs from charging you extra. Thats not a bad price at all tho

Good luck with your build, thats quite a sick set up you got there.
__________________
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q

Last edited by aviduser; May 3, 2009 at 10:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 10:45 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aviduser View Post
Yep, but all they're warehouses are in the states, so they charged me something like a $30 handling fee when I had free shipping. I think its to pay for they're deal with ups to prevent customs from charging you extra.

Good luck with your build tho, thats quite a sick set up you got there.
sorry for OT but I have something to share:
I performed an experiment once to see what exactly the "handling" fee was.
I got a quote for shipping/ handling for a package to Calgary, Alberta...
And then I got a quote for the same package to Oakville, Ontario...

Turns out the shipping cost was within like $0.25 but the handling fee was LOWER for the package to Calgary, Alberta... the only explaination: The taxes in Alberta are only 5%.

Ergo... the handling fee is a function of the sales tax in your area.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 10:52 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

You'd be better off buying a better PSU.

I'm 99% positive the 8pin cpu will not work on a GPU card.

Different plugs.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 11:00 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default

Not to bash but anything, but $360 for a GTX280 is really expensive, especially when a GTX260-216 is well under $250.

Oh and you saw your other thread bout the Corsahir HX1000 right? Like said there, I still say it'll be more than enough to power your rig.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 295 sli vs GTX 275 tri-sli phil3_66666 Video Cards 12 April 29, 2009 11:03 PM
[WTB] 1kw PSU, for Tri-Sli. 3.0charlie Buy/Sell & Trade 23 April 16, 2009 04:03 AM
ASUS P5Q-PRO vs XFX 780i Tri Sli element291 CPU's and Motherboards 15 February 27, 2009 01:07 AM
Am I going to have enough juice for tri-SLI? zlojack Power Supplies 10 January 7, 2009 11:05 PM
Tri SLI, Quad SLI, SLI comparisons with 9800GTS, GX2 Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 3 March 31, 2008 02:32 PM