Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 09:38 AM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,933

My System Specs

Default

But I like arguing even if I am wrong :p. If price is a concern then go with the GTX 270 because it is the same price as the 4890 and the GTX 270 will have better warrenty, better cooler that is quieter, have physx support(not like much uses it), setp up if you go with evga and is faster for the most part then the 4890. Now if you are willing to do two cards then it is a different story. That also means we need to know what mobo you have. If you have an X58 then that makes choices easier.

Oh and who doesn't run their games with at least 4xAA?

Anyways all we need is a price that you are willing to pay for and then decide from there.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."

Last edited by belgolas; April 29, 2009 at 09:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 10:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 44
Default

price im paying for is around 450 im buying it from either canadacomputers.com or infonec.com, i have a p45 board, which IS crossfire X compatible, the only reason why i do not want to crossfire x is because the layout of my board, (EP45-DS4p), i would have to take off my sound card which cost me 200 dollars if i want to crossfire (if its dual slot) also i have an antec 900 which means power supply gets in the way on the last PCIE slot(if its dual slot), i like to run my games with atleast 4xaa 8xaf, 60fps(duh).

also will the GT300 be coming out to compete against 5890 in july? because if it does wouldnt that entitle me to a step up? that would be awsome
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 03:52 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,933

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharp-Shooter View Post
price im paying for is around 450 im buying it from either canadacomputers.com or infonec.com, i have a p45 board, which IS crossfire X compatible, the only reason why i do not want to crossfire x is because the layout of my board, (EP45-DS4p), i would have to take off my sound card which cost me 200 dollars if i want to crossfire (if its dual slot) also i have an antec 900 which means power supply gets in the way on the last PCIE slot(if its dual slot), i like to run my games with atleast 4xaa 8xaf, 60fps(duh).

also will the GT300 be coming out to compete against 5890 in july? because if it does wouldnt that entitle me to a step up? that would be awsome
Well some rumors say so but I wouldn't hold my breathe.

Well if you budget is 450 but can't do crossfire then I would suggest a GTX 285 which is the max you could get.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 04:34 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Why get x when you could get y? We could be here all day: Why get the 285 when you could get the 275 and overclock it? Why get the 275 when you could get a 260 core 216 for $50-75 less? etc etc etc
Oops, I guess I forgot the sarc tag, oh well.

I agree with belgolas. Price is not the issue and CF is out of the question just buy the fastest card you can. Me, I'm definitely going CF or tri-fire.

Last edited by IRQ Conflict; April 29, 2009 at 04:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 04:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 44
Default

i can crossfire, but the second and third cards has to be single slots, so maybe 4870 +4850?
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 05:00 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

I'm not sure how that would be. It used to be that the setup would downgrade to the lowest common denominator. But a member here showed that a 4870 coupled to a 4870X2 did run at their separate speeds. I dunno bout the 4850 though.

Check this out.

Edit: This review shows the 4870+4850. Doesn't seem it's woth doing over a 4850+4850 setup.

Last edited by IRQ Conflict; April 29, 2009 at 05:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 06:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Regina
Posts: 196
Default

If I was going to get a new card and systems at this point, I might actually choose the gtx 275. The reason? Whatever the future held, I could use the gtx 275 as a PhysX card. You might say this sounds a tad excessive for physX, but really, with cards coming out that could potentially be 3 times faster than this generation, I think that overpowered PhysX card might just feel in place.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 06:21 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

The future? Can you guarantee compatibility in an ATi based system? What if I want to use Stream?
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 06:42 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,933

My System Specs

Default

physx card works on any mobo. Well the GTX 275 is much cheaper. 2 4850's aren't too bad either as long as the game likes crossfire.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 07:26 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
physx card works on any mobo.
Ageia (SP?) Physx cards, yes. Just try and run an ATi card with an nVidia card, ain't gonna happen.

Edit: Here is a little something everyone needs to know bout Physx/Cuda. Reminds me of the lost sale of a pickup truck my dad was going to buy, not after the 'high pressure' tactics were brought to bear.

Last edited by IRQ Conflict; April 29, 2009 at 09:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ramsinks on GTX 285? Toronto122 New Builds 2 February 26, 2009 05:10 PM
Is it worth the trouble for stepping up EVGA GTX 260 Core 216SC to GTX 285? appplejack Video Cards 4 February 14, 2009 04:05 PM
[FS] HWC Moving to i7 Sale: BFG GTX 285 OCX & EVGA GTX 280 Superclocked SKYMTL Buy/Sell & Trade 20 January 28, 2009 02:14 PM
GTX 295 and GTX 285 Very Close zlojack Press Releases & Tech News 22 December 11, 2008 09:30 AM