Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 07:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Default 9800GTX from EVGA get bottlenecked by my CPU?

I have a Athlon 64X2 3800 at 2.01GHz CPU, the EVGA 9800GTX card, 4Gb of Muskin Ram, and a monitor at 1440X900 resolution. Lately i have been downloading and trying out demos from steam and the disc from the PC Gamer Magazine. However, I discovered that my PC can't really run game demos, such as Bioshock, Empire: Total War, and Codename Panzer -Cold War, really smooth at high settings. As a result, i am wondering that is it that my ancient duo core CPU is bottlenecking my 9800GTX card. Moreover, at high settings, i actually get 60FPS in Bioshock, but the framerate often drops to 10FPS once every 5s to 10sec. Thus, the Bioshock demo kindof runs laggy for me. My computer can also only get 10FPS to 15FPS in Codename Panzers demo. Nevertheless, i can run Tom Clacy's Hawx demo at 40FPS smoothly without problems. Fallout 3 and Dawn of War II (full game) also runs pretty good on high settings for me. Generally, i am wondering that is it that my CPU is too slow and bottleneck my 9800GTX card. Or is it that i run the games at 1440X900 that cause the unsmoothless and sudden drop of FPS in games.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 07:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Default

Btw way... is it because demos do not have the full files so that they don't run smoothly?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 08:36 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

It's your CPU bottlenecking, unfortunately for you. That card will run anything at 1440x900.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 08:39 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

Yeah that's going to bottleneck ya.. I had an AMD 6000+ with a 9800GTX and it was just about being a bottleneck... so that chip definitely will be.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 08:51 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

Overclock that CPU! Get a nice aftermarket heatsink such as the OCZ Vendetta 2.

Or you could sell your 9800GTX and get a 9600GT. It'll run nicely at 1440X900. Only games you might struggle on with a 9600GT would be Crysis.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 10:16 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Yeah for anything above a 9800GT you want around a 3ghz cpu for no bottle neck =(
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 11:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Default

Would i solve the bottleneck problem if i upgrade it to Anthlon X2 6400+ at 3.2GHz? or a Phenom with quad or triple core cwould be better?


~i was acutally about to by the 6400+ duocore when i went to the states ~
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2009, 12:11 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,495

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C_O_N View Post
Would i solve the bottleneck problem if i upgrade it to Anthlon X2 6400+ at 3.2GHz? or a Phenom with quad or triple core cwould be better?


~i was acutally about to by the 6400+ duocore when i went to the states ~
The 6400+ wouldn't be worth it. I went from a 3800+ @ 2.7GHz to a E6420 @ 3.2GHz and the X2 was absolutely slaughtered. I'm on i7 now, but that's a different story altogether. Anyways, most high-end single GPU cards see a bottleneck right around the C2D 3.2GHz mark, and considering the C2D's slap the X2's around, I wouldn't consider the 6400+ much of an upgrade from what you have, especially if you're willing to go for a Phenom II triple or quad.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2009, 05:17 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

c2d cheap and overclock the begebers out of it
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2009, 12:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
The 6400+ wouldn't be worth it. I went from a 3800+ @ 2.7GHz to a E6420 @ 3.2GHz and the X2 was absolutely slaughtered. I'm on i7 now, but that's a different story altogether. Anyways, most high-end single GPU cards see a bottleneck right around the C2D 3.2GHz mark, and considering the C2D's slap the X2's around, I wouldn't consider the 6400+ much of an upgrade from what you have, especially if you're willing to go for a Phenom II triple or quad.
my motherboard is M2N-E from Asus, don't think it can support Phenomon II... I think it can only support Phenomon if i change the Bios. Would the Phenom eliminates the bottleneck though?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] EVGA 9800GTX+ Superclocked+ Gunner86 Buy/Sell & Trade 16 February 9, 2009 07:14 AM
FS: Brand new EVGA 9800GTX mikenogo Buy/Sell & Trade 4 January 11, 2009 11:21 PM
[WTB] EVGA/XFX 9800gtx+ JShupka Buy/Sell & Trade 3 November 20, 2008 08:27 PM