Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 05:29 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 475
Default 8800gts graphic problem

8800 gts g92 texture popping

not sure if texture popping is best describe. i was playing Two Worlds demo.... ingame setting was set to max... slide all bars to the right side at 1280x1024 resolution. sure got huge more frame rates than when it ran on x850xt but when i run around the field.... theres like grass sudden apear. and disapear when i step back and apear again when i step foward. its like 2 feet away from grass and away from grass... not that far. i even have the distance draw point to max slide all the way to right side. i dont remember having this sudden pop up grass when playing on x850xt same max setting and res.



i also play unreal tournament 3 demo with it. every map before starting the match..... when load to arena... the graphic was blurry and not full rendered... took 2-3sec then it full render.



- x2 4400+
- 3gig
- 8800 gts g92
- 400w ultra xvs psu
- vista 64bit




is this normal? anyone have this issue on your 8800 gts g92? i have latest nvidia driver.










could it be low ram? 3gig is nothing for vista... especially 64bit vista.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 08:45 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 470
Default

I don't know if it's normal but I get a simular thing in farcry rectangle chunks of water appear an dis appear as I move around in the swamp(original) and a few other games. I've used 8800gts640MB, 9800gtx+ and now gtx280 I kinda put it down as a game flaw. Maybe someone else will give you a better explanation.
__________________
x4 965BE 3.7ghz / Tuniq Tower 120/ xfire HD6870s / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 09:35 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,870

My System Specs

Default

For UT3, that's perfectly normal. It's how the game loads, rather than sitting on the menu/loading screen, it renders before your eyes.

And for Two Worlds, never played it so I can't comment there. Though I'm guessing that's normal as well since rendering moving vegetation (aka grass, trees, etc) is extremely taxing on the entire system and game engine. So they probably limited the distance on it to prevent any serious performance issues.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 10:40 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,554

My System Specs

Default

Yes, I believe this is similar to the way ETQW and Crysis do it. They stream the textures on the fly. Has something to do with using larger textures and higher quality without the performance impact iirc. You just have to be patient. Once the textures load all should be well.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 07:50 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 475
Default

two worlds demo... when i play two worlds demo on x850xt... it dont have grass apear and reapear and it is too short distance.... x850xt max setting same setting i got 14-17 frame but it is long draw distance and no grass popping.

who have exact same 8800 gts g92? who can go download two worlds demo at file planet?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 01:28 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,554

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried increasing the quality to max in the driver control panel? Sounds like driver optimization might be a little too aggressive?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 04:59 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRQ Conflict View Post
Have you tried increasing the quality to max in the driver control panel? Sounds like driver optimization might be a little too aggressive?
tried nvidia control panel... set everything max... 16 aa... 16 af... ect... still two worlds have un-normal short stream of grass popping. its like only 2 feet away of my character. very short draw distance of grass. looks un-normal.

and in two worlds.... i went to the water... the lake.... near the lake... the shore... the sand looks all white out. too white that i cant see anything. i remember on my x850xt i can still see some detail and not all white.



i heard nvidia card playing guild wars... the snow is too white too. could this be nvidia?



two worlds demo.




8800 gts g92 is also my first nvidia card.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 07:48 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

When you upgraded to the 8800GTS did you completely remove ALL the drivers and tag along files from your ATI card using a driver cleaner? You might have some driver corruption as a result of going from ATI --> Nvidia. Usually a reformat is the best route when changing from ATI - Nvidia (or vice versa) but a very thorough driver cleaning can work too.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 07:59 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

I played Two Worlds quite a bit, and that just how it always was for me. At all max settings (ignoring AA and AF) it made it a little smoother, but it still seems to just pop up. The white sand comes from the game applying way too much HDR, a symptom of many modern games that think more HDR means more realistic graphics. Also, as jdrom said, UT3 is supposed to load with lower settings and then finish loading just as you start playing, that way you can get into the action quicker.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian

Last edited by CanadaRox; April 15, 2009 at 08:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i need an graphic card for x4 slot jksynapse Video Cards 6 February 18, 2012 03:27 PM
graphic card for PCI-X 64-bit/133 MHz slot jksynapse Video Cards 2 January 27, 2009 06:04 AM
7F bios error and no graphic output Wolfx25 Troubleshooting 4 December 27, 2008 09:31 AM
Gaming Shootout: HD 2900xt vs 8800gts vs 8800gts: X-Bit labs Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 12 May 29, 2007 04:08 AM
possible to run SLI with an 8800GTS 640 and an 8800GTS 320? Misoprostol Video Cards 10 May 10, 2007 09:19 PM