Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2009, 07:32 AM
AERo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 148
Default Driver installation question

Alright.

The question is, do I clean out the old ATi drivers if I'm installing
new ATi drivers?


I've only cleaned out drivers when I was switching back and forth
between nvidia to ATi, or ATi to nvidia cards.

But now I'm wondering, should I clean out the drivers "also" when
I am switching to newer catalyst suit/drivers also?
(thinking of going from 9.2 to the new 9.4)
__________________
AMD64 Phenom X4 940 @ 3.6GHz G.Skill Black π 2x2GB
Asus M3A78-EM
Powercolor 4870x2
OCZ Vertex 120GB, Kingston V 128GB, Raptor X,
Antec Mini P180 CM UCP 700W
Samsung 240T, 226BW
Logitech G15, Microsoft X8

Watercooled by:
Swiftech Storm Rev.2 , 4870x2 FCB
1xMCP350 w/Petrastops , MCR220 QP , MCRES-MICRO , Tygon 1/2" ID
2 x Scythe Kama Ultra 1000
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2009, 08:04 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

when using the same brand ati or nvidia i just over install because the old drivers should be removed during the new install ( ati anywas)
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2009, 09:20 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

I've always used nvidia cards. I simply go to add/remove programs, uninstall the old driver, then install the new driver. Reboot. I've never used driver cleaner or driver sweeper.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2009, 12:45 PM
AERo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 148
Default

Awesome.

So I just keep doing what I used to do, and there should be no problem :)
__________________
AMD64 Phenom X4 940 @ 3.6GHz G.Skill Black π 2x2GB
Asus M3A78-EM
Powercolor 4870x2
OCZ Vertex 120GB, Kingston V 128GB, Raptor X,
Antec Mini P180 CM UCP 700W
Samsung 240T, 226BW
Logitech G15, Microsoft X8

Watercooled by:
Swiftech Storm Rev.2 , 4870x2 FCB
1xMCP350 w/Petrastops , MCR220 QP , MCRES-MICRO , Tygon 1/2" ID
2 x Scythe Kama Ultra 1000
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2009, 12:58 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

I always do the diligent uninstall --> safemode --> driver cleaner --> install new driver.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2009, 01:00 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AERo View Post
Awesome.

So I just keep doing what I used to do, and there should be no problem :)
Nope.

I've never removed previous versions for nvidia ever.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on satellite installation.. Eldonko Off Topic 12 March 6, 2009 12:10 PM
Help for Asus P5Q installation MrDeodorant Troubleshooting 3 November 14, 2008 05:49 PM
RAM Installation (really simple question) shryke RAM 9 October 28, 2008 03:00 AM
Help with 2900xt installation SirenOfDarkness Video Cards 15 September 9, 2007 01:40 AM
Installation of Windows XP enaberif O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 January 24, 2007 10:54 PM