Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 01:19 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default BottleNecking?

How do i know if my CPU is bottlenecking my XFX285 BE

CPU is OC to 4.125ghz.

3dmark06 score

19289.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 01:24 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

only in benches, not in real-world apps.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 01:35 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

What CPU do you have? What resolution are you gaming at? What's your rig detail? Try to provide these kind of information.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 01:59 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
How do i know if my CPU is bottlenecking my XFX285 BE

CPU is OC to 4.125ghz.
When running a Benchmark such as 3D MK - if your score continuosly gets better n better as you increase CPU speed, yuo know that your CPU is "holding back" the data from being processed by your GPU.....on the other hand, if increasing CPU speed results in very little increase in performance, you know your GPU is holding back the Data being processed by your CPU......
Be aware that Programs such as 3DMK06 and Vantage are optimized for either CPU or GPU and this is most defintiely factored in....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 02:57 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

I can get anymore outa this CPU... At least i dont think i can...

Wish thier was a easyer way to check
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 03:18 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

Back off your OC instead of bumping it up. That will tell you the same thing. If your framerate is affected, it's your CPU limiting your FPS in that game.

This changes from game to game.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 05:23 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
When running a Benchmark such as 3D MK - if your score continuosly gets better n better as you increase CPU speed, yuo know that your CPU is "holding back" the data from being processed by your GPU.....on the other hand, if increasing CPU speed results in very little increase in performance, you know your GPU is holding back the Data being processed by your CPU......
Be aware that Programs such as 3DMK06 and Vantage are optimized for either CPU or GPU and this is most defintiely factored in....
Yes and no. Certain benches within those programs are CPU-only, so even if you somehow had your processor at 10Ghz, you'd still see more performance from getting it to 10.1GHz. So make sure you only look at that 3D portions of the score breakdown.

At a guess, I'd venture that the only game you could possibly be seeing CPU bottlenecking would be something like large-scale SupCom.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 05:25 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

3dm06 is more cpu than gpu.

Hence why upgrading a cpu or overclocking it can make a huge increase in score.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 05:26 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

SupCom, FarCry2(only affects minimums though), and GTA4(gains for cores, not so much frequency after 3.6ghz)


keep in mind that programmers are going for worst-case scenarios(minimum requirements), so rarely is cpu overclocks going to affect performanec, especially in newer titles.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2009, 05:28 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
SupCom, FarCry2(only affects minimums though), and GTA4(gains for cores, not so much frequency after 3.6ghz)
Dual core processors stop showing any real significance in frames at about 4ghz. Anything beyond that really makes no difference.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do you suppose is bottlenecking this PC? LookAQuesadilla Troubleshooting 14 April 30, 2007 09:16 AM