Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2009, 12:51 AM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default Q regarding Crossfire

Hey guys. I seem to have a problem with 4870 512mb crossfire.
Both GPUs are only used when I run 3DMARK06 pixel shader tests, but only one gets used by games like L4D and Crysis while the other sits there and do nothing.

I've played around with CCC, and there is no luck.
The cards are Palit Sonic Dual edition and Sapphire. Wondering if anyone can help me with this
Thanks!
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2009, 03:17 AM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 383
Default

Your best bet would probably be in the ATI x-fire forums. Crysis hates x-fire as I'm sure you've heard, but as for left 4 dead Im not so sure. But it seems like if your cards are working in 3dmark they should work if supported in games too...
__________________
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2009, 05:38 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,837

My System Specs

Default

I had a similar problem in Crysis and FC2 and found that toggling the crossfire off/then on in CCC just before loading the game fixed it. Once you close the game, though, it gos back to one card so youll need to do it again.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2009, 09:18 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,916

My System Specs

Default

That's the whole fun of Crossfire!

Messing around trying to get both cards to actually work in all games. Normally its all driver related though and well ATI still has yet to totally fix Crossfire IMO.

When I had my HD4850 Crossfire setup, it was a lack luster experience. Didn't really notice any gains within games that used Crossfire so it was a waste in my situation. Ended up selling off one card.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2009, 02:52 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

I think that's what I'm going to do heh, just sell of one card.

Thanks for the help guys
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crossfire WTF? Squeetard Video Cards 29 October 22, 2008 04:29 PM
HIS 4850 ICEQ4 Turbo crossfire or normal HIS 4850 crossfire? lanken123 Video Cards 6 October 7, 2008 09:47 PM
3870 Crossfire Scart Video Cards 6 August 17, 2008 05:14 PM
sli & crossfire triumph Power Supplies 2 July 26, 2008 11:09 PM
crossfire Vs SLI enzeo Video Cards 7 December 19, 2007 10:55 PM