Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2009, 05:06 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 403
Default 2 x card or sli ?

title says it all whats the better performance investment of the 2 ,should I go with sli or a 2 x vid card ? based on a comparison of apples to apples so to speak ( aside from the fact that my cpu will be a bottleneck) is sli over rated ?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2009, 05:28 PM
kirk_d's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 223
Default

OK, I got ya. You're talking about running in SLI, as opposed to just two cards
I don't know. I would imagine SLI would give better results, however a little more buggy.

I tried the same thing with ATI, and it was nice without the CCC running in the background.
Results weren't as good as crossfire, but way less overhead running.

I also experienced a very minor stutter in crossfire, only in 3dmark06; wasn't there
with just two cards.

Just Two cards did provide more performance than a single card.

My mobo has a uli chipset, and I've run it SLI.( Major crash, but worked for a minute)
Experiment!
Muhahaha Hahhahaa!
__________________
Opty 170(naked) @2600 | Abit AT8 32x | EVGA Vanilla 8800gt 650/1625/950 | 2gb Ocz Pc4000Eb@260 | Audigy Gamer | Tx650 | Cm690 |

WC Loop: DD Cpx-Pro | HWL 240 Xtreme | D-Tek V2
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2009, 05:31 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

What kind of budget range are you looking at? SLI scales much better than it used to so it's a good option for planning an upgrade path, but generally I just get the fastest card I can afford.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2009, 05:35 PM
kirk_d's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
What kind of budget range are you looking at? SLI scales much better than it used to so it's a good option for planning an upgrade path, but generally I just get the fastest card I can afford.
...and Mr Babrbarossa is totally correct, because you're in effect buying two cards
for the performance of 1.3-1.8 cards. Hope that makes sense!
__________________
Opty 170(naked) @2600 | Abit AT8 32x | EVGA Vanilla 8800gt 650/1625/950 | 2gb Ocz Pc4000Eb@260 | Audigy Gamer | Tx650 | Cm690 |

WC Loop: DD Cpx-Pro | HWL 240 Xtreme | D-Tek V2
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2009, 05:41 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
What kind of budget range are you looking at? SLI scales much better than it used to so it's a good option for planning an upgrade path, but generally I just get the fastest card I can afford.
$300 , guess since I already have 1 vid card matching one bout 100 bucks on ebay will need a mobo that does 2 x 16 pcie , (anybody have a used 680i mobo )

Last edited by Jim; March 14, 2009 at 05:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2009, 05:43 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirk_d View Post
OK, I got ya. You're talking about running in SLI, as opposed to just two cards
I don't know. I would imagine SLI would give better results, however a little more buggy.

I tried the same thing with ATI, and it was nice without the CCC running in the background.
Results weren't as good as crossfire, but way less overhead running.

I also experienced a very minor stutter in crossfire, only in 3dmark06; wasn't there
with just two cards.

Just Two cards did provide more performance than a single card.

My mobo has a uli chipset, and I've run it SLI.( Major crash, but worked for a minute)
Experiment!
Muhahaha Hahhahaa!
sorry by 2x Im talkin single card 2 gpu's
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2009, 06:09 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

If you're running an e4300, - you're going to get bottlenecking if you get anything too high-end so I might be tempted to sell your cpu/mobo and buy something like an e8400, p5q pro combo with the $300. Then you're ready for a faster video card when you can afford it. But you could always go fo rthe GPU now- you can get a 4870 for around 240, or a GTX 260 core 216 for just a little more.

Might be worth haunting the FS threads for a while, lots of us upgrade junkies selling off fairly new mobos and CPUs around here. (I do have a used 680i, but that probably isn't the best route ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2009, 06:19 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
If you're running an e4300, - you're going to get bottlenecking if you get anything too high-end so I might be tempted to sell your cpu/mobo and buy something like an e8400, p5q pro combo with the $300. Then you're ready for a faster video card when you can afford it. But you could always go fo rthe GPU now- you can get a 4870 for around 240, or a GTX 260 core 216 for just a little more.

Might be worth haunting the FS threads for a while, lots of us upgrade junkies selling off fairly new mobos and CPUs around here. (I do have a used 680i, but that probably isn't the best route ;-)
wow thats great info Babrbarossa , thanks, yea i know the 4300 gotta go,so replace the combo or gpu...hmm, if I replaced cpu/mobo would I see appreciable performance in game (COD5) right away in terms of frames / second with max features on ?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2009, 06:27 PM
kirk_d's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 223
Default

Budget would be an AMD system, the 720 triple core is a haymaker.
Couple that with some nice video, you're laughing!

I guess you could go intel.
__________________
Opty 170(naked) @2600 | Abit AT8 32x | EVGA Vanilla 8800gt 650/1625/950 | 2gb Ocz Pc4000Eb@260 | Audigy Gamer | Tx650 | Cm690 |

WC Loop: DD Cpx-Pro | HWL 240 Xtreme | D-Tek V2
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2009, 06:31 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

The biggest imnmediate improvement for games is going would be a new GTX 260 or something, even if it isn't fully utilized, but for everything else, it would be a CPU/mobo, and you would have a good foundation for a later GPU upgrade- not sure what I'd do actually- would depend on what kind of deals I could find-- maybe even something like this: NCIX.com - Buy AMD March Madness Phenom II X3 710 Triple Core Processor & MSI DKA790GX Motherboard - X3-710-790GX In Canada.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Sound card and wc video card hausner Buy/Sell & Trade 17 August 11, 2009 01:59 PM
WTB: Video Card/Sound Card/Hard drive - Look here if u gotz some ! Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 4, 2008 09:27 PM