Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 12:25 PM
KnSKranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Barrie, ON Canada
Posts: 67
Default Well, I've had my Sapphire back for 2 weeks now....

....and all I can say is that everything that was causing me problems with the original card don't with the new one. I've thrown every test at it that would cause the original to fail utterly and I have had zero crashes or noticed any bugs. FC2 runs fine maxed 16x10 about 40fps average, AoC max settings, 4xAA, 16xAF, about 80fps avg. Not bad so far but I still consider it a work in progress.
__________________
i7 6700 @3.4ghz
16gb DDR4 Hynix 2133mhz
Radeon R9 370 4gb
Windows 10 Standard
Dell Mainboard
2TB SATA III
Dell Onboard sound
Dell XPS 8900 case
Dell 460w
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2009, 12:47 AM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 388
Default

Well, im kinda lost. Didn't follow your previous thread(s). So maybe you could fill me in?

What were your original problems? I assume you got the card back from RMA.

AoC you say? Age of Conan right? Man, that game was promising at first, but I had endless connection problems. Really sad cause I dropped $60 on the game plus $15 on a 1 month subscription.

Seemed like a kick ass game, but with all the problems funcom is having with customer service made me want to break the game cd in half...the game was nearly 6 months old when I bought it and they weren't even close to resolving all the bugs/issues.

So ya, I have a strong resentment towards that game...
__________________
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2009, 03:00 AM
KnSKranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Barrie, ON Canada
Posts: 67
Default

Sorry, the previous card would BSOD or lock up when upclocking into 3d mode. Tried many different drivers, hotfixes and even did a clean install of Vista all still giving me the same problem. Eventually, I installed only the drivers and ATI Tray Tools so I could manually set the clocks @750mhz on the core so it would not have to upclock. With only the drivers installed the core and memory would not clock beyond 50mhz core and 50mhz memory. Any attempt to adjust to factory defaults would result in a crash. I tried reinstalling the drivers clean and CCC would not install. After this, I RMA'ed it.

Basically, all gaming and benching work fine now. I don't seem to have any bugs while playing Conan although I do find the game kind of boring.
__________________
i7 6700 @3.4ghz
16gb DDR4 Hynix 2133mhz
Radeon R9 370 4gb
Windows 10 Standard
Dell Mainboard
2TB SATA III
Dell Onboard sound
Dell XPS 8900 case
Dell 460w
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2009, 01:30 PM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 388
Default

Nice

How long was the turn around for your RMA?
__________________
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2009, 03:14 AM
KnSKranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Barrie, ON Canada
Posts: 67
Default

1 week, sent it out on a Wednesday and got it back the following Wednesday.
__________________
i7 6700 @3.4ghz
16gb DDR4 Hynix 2133mhz
Radeon R9 370 4gb
Windows 10 Standard
Dell Mainboard
2TB SATA III
Dell Onboard sound
Dell XPS 8900 case
Dell 460w
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 07:28 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 743
Default

I myself run a sapphire HD4850, the Dual-Slot Fansink version. It hasn't given me any problems (but I haven't pushed it, lol).
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932
CPU : Intel i7-5820K 6-core @ 3.3GHz
RAM : 32GB DDR4 2400MHz (G.SKILL Ripjaws)
HDD : Main: 240GB SSD SATA2 (Intel) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : Gigabyte GTX 970 4GB
PSU : 750W Corsair Modular PSU
MoBo: Asus X99-A
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080 + random 4:3 monitor

Level/Game Designer, Programmer
http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 08:34 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,945

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
It hasn't given me any problems (but I haven't pushed it, lol).
"What determines good from not so grand.....is what happens when it IS pushed....we know what to expect when it isn't pushed!"
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 09:46 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 743
Default

that's like running a marathon. Keep making those runners run, and eventually even those healthy athletes will die of a heart attack or some other related thing :o
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932
CPU : Intel i7-5820K 6-core @ 3.3GHz
RAM : 32GB DDR4 2400MHz (G.SKILL Ripjaws)
HDD : Main: 240GB SSD SATA2 (Intel) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : Gigabyte GTX 970 4GB
PSU : 750W Corsair Modular PSU
MoBo: Asus X99-A
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080 + random 4:3 monitor

Level/Game Designer, Programmer
http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2009, 09:48 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,945

My System Specs

Default

yes....but all is replaceable!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Apple iPod Touch 8GB + Cases $200 (2 Weeks old) jetOne Buy/Sell & Trade 5 February 13, 2009 09:26 PM
Only few weeks before Empire: TW 486 Gaming 4 January 9, 2009 07:25 PM
TRU-X (6 weeks old) magictorch Buy/Sell & Trade 8 March 24, 2008 04:47 PM
AMD B3 stepping to hit the market in a few weeks!! Para_Franck CPU's and Motherboards 2 March 17, 2008 06:48 PM
< 3 weeks for HCF folding team to hit the top 500!!! pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 24 October 11, 2007 09:32 PM