Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 01:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 146
Default Far Cry 2 Benchmarks too low??

Hi Guys,

I just ran the Far Cry 2 Benchmark, and my score seems a bit low, I was wondering if its my system thats holding me back?? (Specs on my Signature) - Settings are were set to Ultra High.

Score
Average Framerate: 37.34
Max. Framerate: 59.41 (Frame:295, 6.48s)
Min. Framerate: 26.45 (Frame:1278, 34.34s)

Settings
Demo(Ranch Small), 1440x900 (75Hz), D3D10, Fixed Time Step(No), Disable Artificial Intelligence(No), Full Screen, Anti-Aliasing(None), VSync(No), Overall Quality(Ultra High), Vegetation(Very High), Shading(Ultra High), Terrain(Ultra High), Geometry(Ultra High), Post FX(High), Texture(Ultra High), Shadow(Ultra High), Ambient(High), Hdr(Yes), Bloom(Yes), Fire(Very High), Physics(Very High), RealTrees(Very High)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 02:07 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

Yes that does seem a little low? What driver are you using and memory overclock speeds? Im wondering if its the cpu holding you back as well, as it doesn't have a much cache and FC2 is very demanding cpu wise (it responds well to extra cores and high oc's but not sure about cache).
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 02:13 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904

My System Specs

Default

Well if the drivers are all fine, then I'll say it's the CPU as that's such a low resolution I doubt the GPU is having any troubles.

However do you honestly see a difference from Very High to Ultra? I surely didn't and the game ran better on Very High anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 02:46 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

The difference isn't huge but it is there when you go into villages or look at vehicles-not that big of a difference though.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 03:23 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

At higher resolutions, I know FC2 can easily break the 512MB barrier, which will hit a card with that much memory pretty hard. But since the OP is running 14x9 with no AA, it doesn't see too likely. Does any one here know what kind of Vmem usage the game has at lower resolutions?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 03:41 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
At higher resolutions, I know FC2 can easily break the 512MB barrier, which will hit a card with that much memory pretty hard. But since the OP is running 14x9 with no AA, it doesn't see too likely. Does any one here know what kind of Vmem usage the game has at lower resolutions?
Nope, dunno how to check either.

I like how GTA4 shows you that in the options.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 03:49 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Rivertuner will track Vmem usage, actually. I'd check it myself, but don't have any working computers with FC2 installed right now, or with ATI cards.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 04:09 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

@OP: Run the benchmarks with Windows Task Manager open, and track the processor usage across both cores. That should give you a quick hint if you processor is bottlenecking anything.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 04:27 PM
DorkSterr's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 25
Default

Wow that is really low for 4870, I did the exact same benchmark with the exact same settings and I got

Settings: Demo(Ranch Small), 1440x900 (60Hz), D3D10, Fixed Time Step(No), Disable Artificial Intelligence(No), Full Screen, Anti-Aliasing(None), VSync(No), Overall Quality(Ultra High), Vegetation(Very High), Shading(Ultra High), Terrain(Ultra High), Geometry(Ultra High), Post FX(High), Texture(Ultra High), Shadow(Ultra High), Ambient(High), Hdr(Yes), Bloom(Yes), Fire(Very High), Physics(Very High), RealTrees(Very High)
  • Total Frames: 1966, Total Time: 51.01s
  • Average Framerate: 38.54
  • Max. Framerate: 54.39 (Frame:4, 0.09s)
  • Min. Framerate: 20.91 (Frame:831, 20.47s)
__________________
i7 980X @ 4510.5MHz | Rampage III Extreme | Dominator GT 2037MHz 7-8-7-20 C7* | ASUS 6970 945MHz/1460MHz | 2X Vertex 3 120GB RAID 0* (OS) | Corsair AX1200 | Obsidian 800D
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2009, 05:57 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904

My System Specs

Default

Is the HD4870 512MB that bad?

Cause my Crossfire HD4850s can get a maximum of like 100FPS and the average was about 60FPS. That was at 1680x1050, no AA, Ultra settings.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd benchmarks Jonwall Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 February 8, 2009 08:43 PM
My Phenom II benchmarks Table21 CPU's and Motherboards 3 December 21, 2008 06:32 PM
Low Benchmarks? LegendofJubei Troubleshooting 3 August 28, 2008 11:15 AM
PCIe 2.0 vrs 1.0 Benchmarks? sswilson Video Cards 4 February 3, 2008 07:51 AM
XFX 8800GT Benchmarks! abs0Lut Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 November 12, 2007 06:00 PM