Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 01:26 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

I had the same problem with the red lights a while back. My thread should be in the troubleshooting sub forum. I dunno... I just took it out everything from the case and tested it on a large box. Worked fine after that. Check for grounding issues in your case like pegs and dust. I'll find the thread when I get on my computer.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 01:30 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

you have onboard vid?

just take out ALL cards then, it should boot into bios just fine regardless of settings.

just 1 stick of ram and cpu and NOTHING else...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 02:55 PM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 383
Default

Ok, new info.

I used a different PSU, same results. Then I removed the card and installed it in another computer, fans boot up on the card and the red light disappears. However still no visual, I tried using different ram sticks, but nothing.

I tried last night removing everything from the case and booting off a cardboard box, then completely reassembled the whole system to no avail.

Donimo- I'll give it a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 03:06 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

did it work on the cardboard box?

if it DID work you may have an issue with the mobo shorting to the case somewhere.

if it DIDN't work you can scratch that off the list as a possibility


My HP wouldnt boot when the psu started to go, took my x800 out of it and it worked into BIOS at least off the onboard.

I thought the vid card was toast so I ran it off the onboard for a month while I RMA'd the card, then the PSU went all the way and took my HD with it with all the pix from xmas... Not that that is your issue, just killing time till my shift is over.
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 03:27 PM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 383
Default

Nope, no luck on the cardboard.

Just threw everything back into my old case/mobo/processor. Everything works fine, boots up no problem.

So far.

Ram is fine
Video Card is fine
Hard drive is fine
Psu is fine
Mobo?

So it isn't a shorting issue seeing as I have the same problem out of the case, Card won't work in either Pci-E slot. No luck at all trying to use onboard video..I dunno why the mobo would work one day then not the other if its the problem.

Maybe I should just rma it and go back to my phenom 9550 till it gets back...
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 03:56 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

process of elimination, if all the components work in the other system then the issue is with whatever was changed, ie: CPU and mobo.

its like sherlock said "if you elliminate the impossible then you are left with the truth" or something like that...

It "could" be the cpu, but I would lean strongly towards the mobo being pooched.

Also, the reason the mobo is pooched could still be the PSU so be careful when you use the psu on anything else as you may end up with 2 dead systems!
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 04:04 PM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 383
Default

Shouldn't I get some "beep" codes from the mobo if the processor is gone?

I'd be pretty dissapointed if it is the Psu, I dropped too much money on that thing just to have something reliable. Time to go pack up the mobo I suppose.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 04:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton,Alberta
Posts: 104
Default

Try the 9550(or older AM2 chip) in the board,if it boots then you just need a bios update
if it doesn't then look like RMA time
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 06:28 PM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 383
Default

Nah, I already flashed the bios to the newest version, which supports the phenom II. I threw the phenom 940 in my old rig to test it and it works fine. In fact I'm using it as I type this.

I also tried installing everything outside of the case again, no luck. I can't see any blow capacitors or anything. Hopefully I can get it replaced or at least repaired.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming with Light editing work. Phenom II build? manbearpig New Builds 3 January 22, 2009 06:47 AM
Does The Razer DeathAdder Have a Control for it's Light Gameplaywarrior Peripherals 7 December 30, 2008 12:55 AM
Economical Rig for F@H, and Light Gaming. BALISTX New Builds 7 November 10, 2008 07:36 PM
64-bit woes evancolson O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 June 6, 2008 10:14 PM
Need a Very Thin and light, 15" LCD, VGA or DVI Cptn Vortex Display Units 0 December 11, 2007 12:08 PM