Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 06:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default Help with Zotac 9500gt

Hi newbie here. Im trying to build mid range htcp.my system is a HP Pavilion 1700n AMD 64 X2 dual core Proscessor 3800+ 2.00GHz 958 MB ram Vista premium 32 bit. I went to bestbuy and purchased A zotacGEforce 9500GT I know my power supply only puts out 300 w but I wont be using it for game playing so I thouht it could be ok to run on my pc. I installed the card boot up the pc and there is no signal to my monitor via the normal monitor connection. Im I missing something or is the power supply the prop?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 06:56 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,657

My System Specs

Default

If you had on-board video, you need to enter the BIOS and configure it as to select the add-on card (the 9500) first over the on-board video.

If you can change it, that is.

Welcome to the Forums.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks glad to be here . I know my basics around a Vista pc so I will need to figure out how to enter the bios mode.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:15 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,657

My System Specs

Default

When you boot your computer, it should show a message saying "Press Del", or F2 to enter BIOS. Other keys can also be pressed, depending on the BIOS manufacturer.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default

I cant see any screen on boot up with card installed.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:23 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,657

My System Specs

Default

Remove the card, and reboot using the on-board. Access the BIOS, make the modifications. Shut down, install the 9500 and reboot.

Adding a GPU to an onboard video motherboard is a pain, to be honest.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Oh ok will try that Thankx for your thaughts Let you know how it went.Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 08:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Im back after booting and rebooting no luck finding bios I googled my mother board Asus A8M2N-LA and if I understand correctly it will not allow changes in bios?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 09:09 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,986

My System Specs

Default

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Forum- A8M2N-LA


Reboot system using onboard video... then just hit F1 until it goes into a blue screened menu.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2009, 05:51 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,715
Default

I will also recommedn ditching the 9500 GT considering your power supply. Grab a HD 4670 which takes less power but provides a TON more performance.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zotac 750a mobo? upcoast604 CPU's and Motherboards 0 January 8, 2009 10:49 AM
9500GT cooler Sniper Video Cards 5 November 10, 2008 05:52 AM
ASUS Launches Overclocked GeForce 9500GT MAC Press Releases & Tech News 0 July 29, 2008 09:45 PM
First Look: NVIDIA GeForce 9500GT 55nm Graphics Cards MAC Press Releases & Tech News 11 July 9, 2008 06:42 PM