Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 03:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default Video Card recommendations

Hello
I've got a Gateway GT5634H system that has the NVidia GeForce 8500 GT video card in it and reading, it seems to be a low end video card. (maybe middle). If I was wanting to upgrade to a better video card, which one would you's recommend?

I do a lot of everything on this system, from gaming to graphics work.

Thanks in advance for you opinions and advice!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 03:35 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,234

My System Specs

Default

Best bet before anybody gives you advice on this is to get any information you can off of the power supply in your system. That's going to make the biggest difference as to what recommendations folks will make.

They'll also want to know your budget.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 03:37 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Gateway Support - Specifications

Are those your system specs?

If so, what monitor resolution?

And what games will be played?

Last edited by Silvgearx; February 5, 2009 at 03:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 03:37 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

wattage (total and 12v rails) and whether or not it has a PCIE 6/8pin connector.
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 03:55 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donimo View Post
wattage (total and 12v rails) and whether or not it has a PCIE 6/8pin connector.
it likely wont have 6/8pin.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 05:14 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

You're looking at a PSU upgrade and a VGA upgrade.

I had to do the same on an older Gateway system, after adding a second HDD and another videocard (7600GT) I nearly killed the stock psu.

Quote:
If so, what monitor resolution?

And what games will be played?
Answer this and we'll be able to determine what you'll need.

Last edited by Eagle Eye; February 5, 2009 at 05:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 05:28 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

lol i have a 8500 gt card sitting here :)
wunder if that would help him any if he dosn't have the requirements for a newer vid card?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 05:49 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,817

My System Specs

Default

If that's the right link of specs, then yeah 300W ain't going to cut it.

If you can't afford a PSU, then the best you're going to get is a HD4670 IMO which go for about $100.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2009, 07:02 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Btw Maxtor welcome to forums
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 05:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Yes, the link that 5ILVgeARX posted is the specs on my system. Didn't realize they had put such a small power supply in this thing.

What if I up the power supply in it? That's not a big deal. Any suggestions as to a power supply going by the specs of this thing? (hopefully not something EXTREMELY expensive.......lol) Keep in mind I'm in Canada so would likely be buying from Newegg.ca or directcanada.com

Right now I am running 1680x1050 for screen resolution but I don't really have one that I prefer. Guess I never gave it much thought.

I play all sorts of games but most of them lately have been Call of Duty and stuff like that. I also do a lot of flight simulator games.




Thanks for all the replys and thanks for the welcome to the forums!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Video Card/Sound Card/Hard drive - Look here if u gotz some ! Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 4, 2008 09:27 PM
[WTB] Video Card Table21 Buy/Sell & Trade 5 November 21, 2008 08:26 PM
WTB: video card Skyllz Buy/Sell & Trade 5 October 14, 2008 06:03 PM
WTB PCI-E Video card with Video out Taichan Buy/Sell & Trade 0 June 9, 2008 08:17 PM
To buy: AGP video card Moi_meme22 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 March 9, 2008 03:57 PM