Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 11:47 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Can't say I am surprised about the PSU being a problem, sorry to hear that.

A new case would be a good starting point the and ATCS840 is a great choice. I take it your board is of a Micro-ATX design and most modern cases should accept the motherboard without issue the only thing being a problem IMO is the I/O bracket it looks like it could be potentially longer than the standard and will not fit the new case, hence proprietary components.

Maxtor is there anyway you upload a pic of your system with inside and back shots?

Regards,

EE
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 12:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

This is not a pic I took of my machine but this is the inside of mine:



and this is the back:

Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 12:55 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 167
Default

If you put in a dual slot card you will lose the expansion slot below it, It looks like a pci-e 1X slot, no big deal unless you have something that needs that slot... I think it may be time to look at the big picture and figure out if it's worth the time and money to try and upgrade this system. There will probably be more issues the more you try and mod this, maybe use your cpu and ram and start with a new case-motherboard- gpu-? you've already got a good PSU to start with! Just my 2 cents worth. Hope it helps...
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 02:41 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Looks pretty standard nothing proprietary and as long as the ATCS840 accepts M-ATX board (haven't really checked) you shouldn't have any troubles migrating into the new case. I did it in the past with an old IBM pc with a m-atx board was pretty easy and really made system operate a lot cooler.

Can the I/O shield at the back be removed from that case?

Regards,

EE
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 03:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Mercher, I hear and understand what you're saying about not upgrading this system. What my plans are, is to just put a new PSU and vid card in this until I can get the rest of the stuff to build a new system. I was going to put this 750W PSU and possibly a GTX 260 vid card or something in it. Run it that way only until I can save the coin for everything needed to build the new one. Then I would put this one back to the way it is now and use the 750W and GTX 260 in the new sytem.

Eagl Eye - I'm not really sure if it can be removed or not. I've never really attempted it. Why, what was you thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 05:27 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 167
Default

Ya, sounds like a good plan, there is nothing to lose, give er a shot, "in for a penny in for a pound" As long as the motherboard fits in the new case I think things should work out great! I just wanted you to stop and think, what do I really want out of this... if all else fails, use the system until you get all the parts for a new rig, that pwr supply is a good foundation to start on. Good luck and keep us posted on how things go!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2009, 05:39 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

The I/O shield is removable metal plate that is used to define the I/O ports and it also shields the motherboard from EMI and grounds the ports to the case. I was a little concerned that your case wouldn't have a removable plate and you'd have to leave it bare, not thats its serious issue. In the rare event of a short circuit the ports would not be grounded leaving the potiential for a damaged or a fried motherboard, need I stress rare event. If you decide to go the route of a new case see if you can pop the thing out after you've taken the motherboard out of the Gateway case.

EE

Last edited by Eagle Eye; February 15, 2009 at 04:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2009, 12:47 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

Maxtor if Flight Sims are a priority get an nvidia over an ATI. I got into FSX just after I bought my 2 4850s and although they rock for everything else I'd probably get better results with a 9800 GTX maybe even just a GT. Ask about on some Flight Sim specific boards they will be able to explain better than I. I'm still debating selling my cards to go back to Nvidia.

If flight sims are not a top priority one or 2 4850's are great. Just a heads up.
__________________
ASUS P5Q-E - E8400 (4GHz) - Corsair TX650W - 2xHIS HD 4850 IceQ Turbo - 2x2GB Mushkin Ascent 8000 - 2xWD 500GB - TRUE 120 - Antec 1200 - ASUS Xonar DX - Big Smile
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Video Card/Sound Card/Hard drive - Look here if u gotz some ! Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 4, 2008 10:27 PM
[WTB] Video Card Table21 Buy/Sell & Trade 5 November 21, 2008 09:26 PM
WTB: video card Skyllz Buy/Sell & Trade 5 October 14, 2008 07:03 PM
WTB PCI-E Video card with Video out Taichan Buy/Sell & Trade 0 June 9, 2008 09:17 PM
To buy: AGP video card Moi_meme22 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 March 9, 2008 04:57 PM