Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2009, 03:25 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default 2 vid cards ????

I am getting a 9800gx2 card , Now i have a -35 msi neo2 mb .
I also have a 8600gt vid card here .
Can i run both vid cards at the same time ie: 8600gt for pysicx and 9800gx2 as normal vid card ?

Or am i compleatly a noob and don't know what the heck i am asking lol ?
BE HONEST HUH ,I CAN TAKE IT :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2009, 05:26 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default

Yes you can do that.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2009, 05:35 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

So is there any thing i need to do to make this work ?
a dmi cables from the 8600gt to the 9800gx2 etc etc ???
not sure how i would do this?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2009, 05:54 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Not sure if this is possible..... I would think you may just want to save yourself the trouble and just run the 9800GX2 by itself.....its a lot of card....
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2009, 06:11 PM
S_G's Avatar
S_G S_G is offline
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, home of the Canadiens
Posts: 830
Default

It is possible, and worthwhile. The 9800GX2 will run in SLI mode on its own, then you can specify the 8600 to act as a PhysX slave.
__________________
HTPC: MSI Z77A-G43 + i5-3570k@4.6 + 16GB DDR3-1600 + GTX 580 + X-Fi Platinum on water
Work: 13" MacBook Pro Retina 512GB
Old Workstation: X7DWA-N : 2x Xeon E5330 Quads @ 3GHz + 24GB FB-DIMM DDR2-800 on water
1x 8800 Ultra --> Sony GDM-FW900 + LVM-37w3se // HT Omega Striker ~ (optical) Pioneer SE-DIR800C ~+ SE-DHP800 / HD 280 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2009, 06:12 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default

I do not see why he cannot. he just wants to use his older 8600GT as a PhysX card. Why do you not think that is possible?

EDIT: Ninja'ed by S_G.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2009, 06:13 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

yea capt i was just curious as if it would work and if so how would it work lol , but yes i am going to run the one card for now untill i get a sli mb t5hen i will buy the second card and then wc both i guess that would be considered a quad sli?

but i know i definatly have to wc these cards coz of the heat load!!!!!!1
Man thaqts gonna cost me huh ?
but i am sure with the one vid card i willdo fine for no more than what i do with this system :)
but i got the bug just not the cash yet !!! but i will have :)

So can i run the single 9800gx2 in sli mode on the msi mb?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2009, 06:15 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
Not sure if this is possible..... I would think you may just want to save yourself the trouble and just run the 9800GX2 by itself.....its a lot of card....
I see you are running this card as well !!!!

Whats the heat like on it or do you have yours wc?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2009, 07:16 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,757

My System Specs

Default

Alright, to run your card as a dedicated PhysX processor, the process is different in either XP or Vista. Vista of course being the more complicated. I'd say search online and there's a number of topics and announcements on how to use it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Older AGP Video Cards FrankyG Buy/Sell & Trade 11 June 1, 2009 12:27 PM
How to fold with multiple cards? Cptn Vortex HardwareCanucks F@H Team 16 January 2, 2009 07:46 AM
XFX to sell ATI cards Jonwall Press Releases & Tech News 18 December 27, 2008 06:36 PM
TV Tuner Cards Wein13 Video Cards 0 September 19, 2008 08:54 PM
how much vid cards affect 3dMark ragenrok Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 April 24, 2007 08:22 AM