Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2009, 05:40 PM
Barron58P's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Question GTX 295 3Dmark06 of 13019?

First, This is rocks! very nice. I used to live near Winnipeg. Now Colorado.

I just got my GTX 295 and popped it in last night. Ran 3dmark and what a disappointment. ORB - Compare

I am going to try and re clean and reinstall the drivers but i am not optimistic. I have a Q9650 coming today so maybe its the processor holding me back

Facts so far:
  1. All games run at 1920 X 1200
  2. Processor Q6600 at stock speeds.
  3. Ram at DDR2-800
  4. 3 of the four rails from the PSU are used for the GPU. Each rail is 18amps.
  5. I have re seated the card and no improvement.
  6. A Killer NIC is installed.
  7. The light on the card is Green.
  8. Check the temp at SB and NB at 100F not 100C.
  9. Tried one stick of ram.
  10. Tried one stick of ram and one hard drive and no PCI cards.
  11. NB, CPU, All VR are water cooled.

On the bright side COD4 runs much better than my 4870(solid 125 FPS vs 80~100).

Any ideas would be GREATLY appreciated.
__________________
Mother board: ASUS Maximus X38 WC on NB, SB, and VR
Processor: Q9650 WC
Power: Silverstone 750W ST75ZF
Memory: Crucial 4Gb DDR2-800
Video: ASUS GTX295
pump / radiator: Koolance EXOS 2+

Last edited by Barron58P; January 29, 2009 at 10:57 AM. Reason: adding ram and processor facts.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2009, 05:46 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,775
Default

Which drivers are you using?

Also, check to make sure SLI is enabled in the Nvidia control panel since with newer Nvidia drivers, the GTX 295 can be unlinked so one core handles physics while the other is used for rendering.

Hold on, this was default settings in 3DMark06? If so, your processor is probably kicking your butt.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2009, 06:12 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Yeah somethings up there for sure, what CPU are using now?

I hit 11825 with an AMD Dualcore rig, 14243 on my E8400 at stock never bothered benching my Q9550 at 4.0 this was all with a GTX280.

EE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2009, 06:21 PM
Barron58P's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the reply's. I am using "7.15.11.8120" I downloaded this about a week ago. I checked and SLI is enabled. Should physics be enabled as well?
__________________
Mother board: ASUS Maximus X38 WC on NB, SB, and VR
Processor: Q9650 WC
Power: Silverstone 750W ST75ZF
Memory: Crucial 4Gb DDR2-800
Video: ASUS GTX295
pump / radiator: Koolance EXOS 2+
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2009, 06:30 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,775
Default

Yes, PhysX should be enabled. However, I have no idea what driver you are using.

Make sure you PROPERLY clean the old drivers and go to the Nvidia site and download the 181.22 drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2009, 06:35 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
7.15.11.8120
The numbers in bold indicate the driver version for future reference sky if you happen to come across it again.

EE
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2009, 06:35 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Q6600 shouldn't hold you back.

Are you forcing AA and ansio in the nvidia control panel?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2009, 07:04 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,775
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle Eye View Post
The numbers in bold indicate the driver version for future reference sky if you happen to come across it again.

EE

Didn't see that. However, a cleaning and install of the 181.22 drivers should still be done.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2009, 07:13 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

ORB - Compare

Benched my system with Q9550, a touch faster on the cpu and if I could get a stable overclock on my GTX280 I'd hit 20K easy.

EE
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2009, 07:44 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

I get over 11k with a 6750 stock and a 4850 stock...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Woot, finally got over 20k in 3dmark06!!! BrianHanna Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 January 13, 2010 02:32 PM
Very poor 3DMark06 SM2/SM3 performance with GTX 260 216 SP Pride82 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 January 10, 2009 08:13 AM
3DMark06 benchmark sswilson Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 292 November 10, 2008 06:51 PM
Hotfix for 3DMark06/05/03 and PCMark05 Eldonko O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 February 29, 2008 02:12 PM
New 3Dmark06 World Record by Shimano SKYMTL Reviews & Articles from the Web 5 July 25, 2007 05:40 AM