Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2007, 06:22 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default What's wrong with my eVGA 8800GTS 640

Hi everybody!

I just finished to put my comp. together last night. I install the GFX card, installed EVGA driver, then the latest forceware maybe a few hours after.
This is what I get in RIVATUNER, I'm puzzled...I need help to understand results.

Core clock: 576 MHZ (stock????????????) I didn't do anything no OC
Core clock Shaders: 1350 Mhz
Memory Clock: 837Mhz (times 2 = 1674MHZ???????????)
Core TEmp 60 deg. Celsius
If I compare to specs....

GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS
Bus Type: PCI Express
Memory: 640MB GDDR3
Core Clock: 500MHz
Shader Clock: 1200MHz
Memory Clock: 1600MHz

I looks like mine is OC'ed even though I didn't do anything...I'm puzzled

Help!
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2007, 06:43 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Try downloading ATI tool and see what it says- I haven't used rivatool yet, but I'm downloading it right now to try it. I'll let you know what it reports for mine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2007, 08:09 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Aren't those supposed to be 2d clocks ? I'm clueless too. Been a while since i ran a Nvidia..lol But i have an 8800GTX coming so..
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2007, 08:56 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Mine reads right-- maybe you somehow got an overclocked unit...have you checked ATI tool yet?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2007, 09:04 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,642

My System Specs

Default

Have you tested it for stability? If so and it works fine I'd say you got a bargain...... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2007, 11:54 AM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default

are you using RivaTuner v 2.01?
And if so, perhaps you were given an OC'd version in the wrong box GG
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2007, 05:36 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Hi! Sorry, been busy.

To give you an update, I got the card through NCIX. On the forum, one of the mods told me (for everybody to see) that EVGA reps. told them that some cards of that shipment would be "special"...I got one of the special ones I guess...

It has the same specs as the EVGA "Superclocked" 8800 GTS 640MB. Anyway, the serial numbers on my card and on the box ARE MATCHING and refer to the "standard" version of the card!!!

Ouf! And they sell that Superclocked for quite a bit more money...anyway good deal.

I got rid of the FAR CRY issue (artifacts) by updating the driver to 158.22 and also update the game to latest version. So at least I can now enjoy the card a bit. Now, the Quake4 issue is still pending! It seams to be a know issue, although I didn't get rid of the issue.

Problems with Dual-core processors in this game? Microsoft has a HOTFIX on that, I tried...no different. There is slowdowns...my 7800 GS runs through this no prob on my A64 3400+...but on my new C2D 6420...no love...

Quake is updated to the latest version available, I patched the HOTFIX..
Now there is somepeople suggesting a registry hack to disable dual-core support...sounds crapy, Quake has a dual-core setting in the advanced settings for crying out loud!

At least ,with Far cry running I don't feel that I got a DUD card anymore...
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2007, 09:21 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Update on my "case" for the people that lost some time of their life reading my post.

I got my "final" OS today...MCE good price...and I updated/downloaded/patched like a MOFO for ever ,and installed games/patches/updates and all.
And Now, my new rig is flying! So much that I don"t believe it!

My GTS is great and even at stock speeds, i'm really impressed. Well, my oldie (transfered to my 7 years old daughter) was a A64 3400+, 1 GIG DDR400, BFG 7800GS OC ,so I notice an OLY JEEZ of an improvement!

So most odf the issues were my fault, I'm sorry for the loss of bandwith... It works!!!
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2007, 03:55 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,642

My System Specs

Default

Great to hear that you've got everything up and running!

As far as wasting bandwidth goes......

No such thing, we've got quite a few first time builders here and nothing beats being able to read about what did and didn't work.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2007, 07:29 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Thanks for the support!

And yes, it's quite the learning curve when you don't upgrade often, a lot of stuff changes!

And it was a little bit stressful...spend all that money and doesn't work the way it should in the first place.

I'll give myself a few weeks and I'll start my OC testing. I aim for a 3.2GHZ, nothing spectacular on my 6420, even though I got a 44G...
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTT: EVGA 320mb superclocked to any G92 8800GTS silverchair Buy/Sell & Trade 2 December 15, 2007 08:55 AM
eVGA 8800GTS 320mb Synth Buy/Sell & Trade 2 December 10, 2007 09:39 AM