Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2009, 11:42 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default Anything wrong with my HIS 4870 1gb?

Im getting some artifacting, only in crysis warhead though, where i see "snow" on trees, also sometimes i get really weird images on my screen, they are sporadic and move around alot, a hard thing to describe really.

like i'll see it in one spot, then i take a step backwards and it's gone.

Then in 3dMark06 the colors went to black and white >.> and then it went all disco colored on me, i had my cpu at 4.4 then, just testing, i set it to 4.2 and i ran the test again and it worked fine, so i think it was a CPU error that time?

other than that, at 4.2Ghz (my e8400) and my 4870 at 775/1000 things seem stable.

crysis warhead is still a bit buggy.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2009, 04:54 AM
Exmortis's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 172
Default

3dMark does both CPU and GPU testing and it pretty harsh on both. My bet is your CPU was just a tad overworked and such intensive tests as 3dMark brough tit to the forefront. When OCing I own all 3dMark for that very reason, great way to work em.

Crysis has some issues with various hardware setups. AMD GAME! forums are always a godo placeto start for issues that all ATI users suffer. The crysis communities may be good as well.
__________________
Exmortis's System

Corsair 600T White
Asus RoG Maximus V Gene
Intel i7-2600K w/Corsair H100
16GB Gskill DDR3 2400MHz
AMD R9 290X
OCZ Revo 3 240GB
OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
WD Velocirapter 600GB
LG DVD burner
LG Bluray Burner
Windows 7x64 Prem
Asus VE24/VE27/VE24
Logitech Z-5450 5.1 speakers
Corsair AX850 Gold PSU
Corsair K90 Keyboard
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2009, 05:23 AM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exmortis View Post
3dMark does both CPU and GPU testing and it pretty harsh on both. My bet is your CPU was just a tad overworked and such intensive tests as 3dMark brough tit to the forefront. When OCing I own all 3dMark for that very reason, great way to work em.

Crysis has some issues with various hardware setups. AMD GAME! forums are always a godo placeto start for issues that all ATI users suffer. The crysis communities may be good as well.

so you think it isnt the card =)?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2009, 10:59 AM
Exmortis's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 172
Default

Honestly no, but that doesn't mean it isn't. Do check a few other communities closer tied to the card/game to be sure. I know my bud here at work has one and mentioned issues in two games, but hes on holidays and I remember one was FC2, I do not remember the other.

rarely does one game only with issues mean bad hardware.
__________________
Exmortis's System

Corsair 600T White
Asus RoG Maximus V Gene
Intel i7-2600K w/Corsair H100
16GB Gskill DDR3 2400MHz
AMD R9 290X
OCZ Revo 3 240GB
OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
WD Velocirapter 600GB
LG DVD burner
LG Bluray Burner
Windows 7x64 Prem
Asus VE24/VE27/VE24
Logitech Z-5450 5.1 speakers
Corsair AX850 Gold PSU
Corsair K90 Keyboard
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2009, 02:10 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Try putting some more voltage on that cpu if nothing changes back off on your gpu overclock
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2009, 03:02 PM
Cranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 149
Default

The first thing to do is put everything to stock(make sure to clear your cmos), and then run the game again. Even if you are not having any heat issues, an extreme overclock can be unstable, especially with a game like Crysis, that is both CPU, and GPU dependent.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe / Intel Core2Quad Q9550@8x425@3400mhz(1.225v) / Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro / 4Gigs DDR2 1066mhz(5-5-5-15) Corsair Dominator / Diamond HD4870x2 / Asus Xonar / WD Raptor 74gb / Hitachi 160GB / Antec Quattro 850w / Logitech Z-680 5.1 / Dell Ultrasharp 24" / 2 LG Optical Drives / Vista Ultimate 32bit / A tower that's been drilled, cut, and bent to fit all of my fans
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2009, 02:52 AM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cranky View Post
The first thing to do is put everything to stock(make sure to clear your cmos), and then run the game again. Even if you are not having any heat issues, an extreme overclock can be unstable, especially with a game like Crysis, that is both CPU, and GPU dependent.

your avatar is epic
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Something wrong? paphman910 Off Topic 2 December 19, 2008 05:43 PM
Is CPU-Z wrong?!!? MognonMan Troubleshooting 2 June 28, 2008 07:56 AM
Did I do wrong? Jack Rabbit Off Topic 9 June 6, 2008 04:31 PM
Huh? What did I do wrong? Prof. Dr. Silver Suggestions & Feedback 6 April 22, 2008 09:51 PM
don't know what's wrong with me... Scratch Water Cooling 5 March 5, 2008 11:06 AM