Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 12:25 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 468
Default Physx on p45 boards?

Ok, I have an 8800gts640MB and a 9800gtx+512MB, if I bought an asus p5q pro will the mobo run a primary 9800gtx+ then use the 8800gts as a dedicated physx card in the 2nd pci e slot? Also, yes I realize it is a crossfire board and not sli but I'm not looking at trying to use it to run sli mode.

Now if I bought an nforce sli mobo would a 9800gtx+ run with an 8800gts(older g80, rev A3, 96 stream processes) in sli mode?

Just trying to use up the 8800gts before I give up and sell it off for a huge loss.
__________________
x4 965BE 3.7ghz / Tuniq Tower 120/ xfire HD6870s / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 12:34 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

You can't mix and match SLi, regardless of the chipset its installed on. Only ATi's cards can do that(mix and match) currently.

As for PhysX, YES, you can on the P5Q Pro. Just ensure you install the 9800GTX+ in the top slot and the 8800GTS in the bottom slot. Install the latest nVidia drivers(180.48), and enable "Hardware Acceleration" in the PhysX area of the nVidia control panel. If I can get a hold of some different nVidia cards(I'll try my best, I live in a sea of red), I'll throw up a guide on how to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 12:48 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

As Chilly said, YES, you can run PhysX on the P5Q Pro. You do not need to run an SLI connector (well duh since it's a XFire board). Set the 9800 as primary and on the PhysX tab set your default to the secondary.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 01:11 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

I agree....YES you can. You don`t need the SLI bridge installed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 01:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Sorry to go OT, is there any noticeable performance increases in games or something.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 03:27 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 468
Default

Thanks for the info from all, glad I can use the old card after all.
A few more questions, If I was to keep my am2 cpu and went with am2 790fx mobo would the 8800gts still be able to be used for 2nd physx card? I.ve been looking at am2 sli boards and the price seems alot higher than asus p5q pro. Basically I'll be looking at the specials on boxing day and was wondering if anyone has suggestions for a solid am2+ sli board or am2+ 790fx chipset boards to keep a look out for? If I have to bite the bullet and go intel I will if there are some good deals but would rather stay with amd for now to cut cost and just get an am2+ SLI or CF mobo.
__________________
x4 965BE 3.7ghz / Tuniq Tower 120/ xfire HD6870s / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 05:14 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
Sorry to go OT, is there any noticeable performance increases in games or something.
From what I've heard, the next generation games (coming out soon) will highly benefit from this.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My new rig before i swapped boards fyshawk Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 0 October 5, 2008 03:43 AM
Get Physx on your lappy! Cheator Video Cards 3 August 16, 2008 07:53 PM
New PhysX driver burebista Video Cards 19 August 12, 2008 06:23 AM
AMD 570 vs AMD 770 AM2 boards Flintblade CPU's and Motherboards 1 February 21, 2008 02:14 AM
SMART boards. Mysteryous O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 December 16, 2007 09:06 PM