Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 09:02 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 747

My System Specs

Default Can no longer overclock 2900XT manually

Hi Guys, I just upgraded my video card driver from 8.9 to 8.12 for my 2900XT. I uninstalled in control panel, booted into safe mode, ran DCP and re-booted. Installed drivers and everything runs fine. The only problem I have is no program besides the CCC will allow me to overclock the card. Normally this wouldn't be much of an issue since I can still run my games overclocked using the CCC but when I am folding using the GPU client it will only run at 2D speeds. The gpu client cannot get 2xxx series card to go into 3D speeds (this is a know problem) so owners of 2xxx series cards have always had to use something like Rivatuner or ATItool to manually put the card at 3D speeds while folding. Now I cannot force the card to use 3D speeds while folding and I am taking a points hit. Any ideas?
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 09:34 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,970

My System Specs

Default

Rollback the drivers IMO. I don't think any recent Catalyst driver has brought any improvements for the HD2900XT.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 09:42 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 747

My System Specs

Default

That is my only option so far but I wanted to see if anybody had a fix.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 10:05 AM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Have you upgraded to the new v1.22 core and 6.23 client, there are supposed to be bug fixes and ppd gains. I don't use ATI cards so I'm not sure if it applies to your card...
Folding Forum • View topic - New ATI core (v1.22) released
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 10:17 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 747

My System Specs

Default

Yes, I have upgraded but the core but the 2D/3D speed issue is in the hardware, not software (the hardware doesn't recognize folding as a 3D application). I don't think that will ever change.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Much Longer for DDR2? ImmaPC RAM 11 November 20, 2008 08:15 AM
How do I manually disable DirectDraw? mrlie3 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 June 4, 2008 08:40 PM
Manually load files into RAM? Thund3rball RAM 6 February 4, 2008 12:52 PM
Help with 2900XT DSNB Video Cards 30 October 14, 2007 02:04 PM
The 2900XT is here! Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 7 May 14, 2007 09:11 AM