Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 05:28 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default Help me troubleshoot an 8800 GTS

I've just received an 8800 GTS 512 that I got in a trade.


System specs are as follows:

Asus P5K
4 GB Generic RAM @ 800 4-4-4-12
CoolerMaster Extreme Power 650W
EVGA 8800 GTS

This is a backup rig and I was running a Sapphire 3670 which was is just fine (indicating that the PCIE slots are fine)

I proceeded to uninstall Catalyst, remove all drivers in safe mode with Driver Sweeper and then power down.

I then turned off the PSU and proceeded to remove the 3670 from the case and install the 8800 GTS.

I plugged in the PCIE power connector and made sure everything was well connected and then hit power.

Seems like there's no signal going from the card to the monitor. I even got the Windows startup sound, but no image on the screen.

The fan spins.

Any ideas or am I SOL?

(I got this card in a trade for some RAM, so I hope it's not DOA)
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 05:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 207
Default

reset jumper on the mobo is your friend, or do a full bios wipe
__________________
CPU: Dual QX9775
MOBO:D5400xs
Ram: 4GB FB-Dimm
PSU:Koolance 1300 Watt
Graphics: Tri sli XXX GTX280 XXX
HDD:2 Supertalent SSD
LCD:24IN Samsung wide
CASE:TT Armor
Danger Den WC Setup
4 Pelts 226Watt
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 05:51 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

my p5k did the same thing when I switched from a 4850 to gtx 260.
Unplug the power, reset the cmos.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 06:03 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Ok...I'll try that.

Thanks!
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 06:43 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Alright

I've got it up and running, but in the bottom 4x slot

My other card runs in the top slot, so I'm obviously doing something wrong. I reset the CMOS by taking out the battery and I updated to the most recent bios from Asus for the board.

I can't imagine the 16x slot is damaged or the other card wouldn't work there, right?
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 06:50 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Did you run the card from the 4X slot first (boot into windows), and then reset cmos / move the card back to X16?

Sounds like it might be the same kind of issue I keep PCI cards around for...

How about setting the bios to default/optimum settings?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 06:56 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Alright.

I'm in Windows with the card in the 4x slot.

So now that I've got into Windows and installed the drivers, I should reset the CMOS again?

Bios is all at default settings.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 07:03 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Try shutting down, resetting cmos, moving the card, then booting back into windows.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 07:35 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Ok...no luck there either.

I even left the CMOS battery out while I walked the damn dog.

It's funny...the fan spins up to 100% and just sticks there.

In the 4x slot it spins up for a few seconds then backs off.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 07:39 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

hrmmmm......

Asus P5K Deluxe - no video display (resolved)

Sounds pretty fishy to me, but you're running out of options......
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes